Ten things you need to know: Women’s Rugby World Cup

World Rugby     24 Jul 2017     World Rugby

1: The Women’s Rugby World Cup will be played in Ireland from 9-26 August.

2: The tournament comprises 12 teams in three pools of four with the pool winners plus the best runner-up progressing to the semifinals.

3: The pools are:
Pool A: Canada, Hong Kong, New Zealand, Wales
Pool B: England, Italy, Spain, USA
Pool C: Australia, France, Ireland, Japan

4: The Black Ferns have won four Women’s Rugby World Cup titles (1998, 2002, 2006 and 2010). England (1994 and 2014) have won twice while USA won the inaugural tournament in 1991.

5: The Black Ferns have named squad of 28 for the tournament. Captain Fiao’o Fa’amauusili is the most experienced with 47 caps and will be playing in her fifth tournament.
6: Tournament host Ireland knocked the Black Ferns out of the 2014 tournament with a 17-14 win in pool play.

7: Black Ferns Pool A opponents Hong Kong will be playing in their first Women’s Rugby World Cup.

8: Italy will be playing in their first Women’s Rugby World Cup since 2002 and boast two survivors in their squad from that tournament - Veronica Schiavon and Silvia Gaudino.

9: A special €1 postage stamp has been created to celebrate Ireland’s hosting of the tournament.
10: The Women’s Rugby World Cup will be screened live on Sky Sport in New Zealand.