Farah Palmer Cup: Round 2 preview

Getty Images     06 Sep 2017     Getty Images

Round two kicks off with defending champions Counties Manukau squaring off with unbeaten Waikato in Pukekohe. The Heat made a big statement last week with a thumping 84-7 victory over North Harbour while Waikato were made to work hard for a 25-17 win over newcomers Tasman. Waikato have history on their side with four wins from six matches played against Counties Manukau but will need to be at their best to challenge the Heat on their home patch. Tune into Sky Sport channel 51 for live coverage from 5pm.


The remainder of the rounds four matches are played on Saturday with Auckland Storm and Canterbury clashing in the first encounter of the day. Canterbury were impressive in overcoming Otago 20-7 last week and will be hoping to have Women’s Rugby World Cup winner Kendra Cocksedge back on board for the clash with Auckland.

The second clash of Super Saturday is the ‘Battle of the Bays’ between the Hawke’s Bay Tuis and the Bay of Plenty Volcanix. Bay of Plenty were immense in drawing with Auckland last week and will be looking to for a victory to place them at the top of the Championship ladder.

Manawatu had the bye last week and will be looking to come flying out of the blocks when they face neighbours Wellington in Petone on Saturday afternoon. The Wellington Pride were sharp in disposing of Hawke’s Bay 41-10 last week but will be braced for a tough challenge from the Cyclones.

The final match of the round will be a historic one with Otago and Tasman squaring off for the first time in the Farah Palmer Cup. Tasman showed enough in their 25-17 loss to Waikato last week that they will be a handful in 2017 and will be eager to get their first competition points.

UPDATE: Counties Manukau defeated Waikato 48-0 on Thursday night.

Farah Palmer Cup – week 2 fixtures

Counties Manukau Heat v Waikato
Thursday 7 September, 5.05pm at ECOLight Stadium, Pukekohe. LIVE on Sky Sport.
Played: 6 (1999-2016)
Wins: Counties Manukau 2, Waikato 4
Last match: Counties Manukau 29, Waikato 0 (2016)

Auckland Storm v Canterbury
Saturday 9 September, 12.05pm at Eden Park, Auckland. LIVE on Sky Sport.
Played: 23 (2001-2016)
Wins: Auckland 22, Canterbury 1
Last match: Auckland 33, Canterbury 3 (2016)

Hawke’s Bay Tuis v Bay of Plenty Volcanix
Saturday 9 September, 2.30pm at Tremain Field, Napier
Played: 3 (2003-2015)
Wins: Hawke's Bay 2, Bay of Plenty 1
Last match: Bay of Plenty 22, Hawke's Bay 19 (2015)

Wellington Pride v Manawatu Cyclones
Saturday 9 September, 2pm at Petone Rec, Wellington
Played: 12 (1999-2016)
Wins: Wellington 8, Manawatu 4
Last match: Wellington 25, Manawatu 20 (2016)

Otago Spirit v Tasman Makos

Saturday 9 September, 3pm at Logan Park, Dunedin
NOTE: Otago and Tasman have never met in the Women’s Provincial Championship.

North Harbour have the bye.