Rugby Rippa stars ready for Wellington

Getty Images     14 Sep 2017     Getty Images

A total of 20 school teams representing their Provincial Unions throughout New Zealand will compete against each other.

To qualify to represent their school and province over 600 schools played in qualifying tournaments around the country.


For the first time, this year’s tournament will see selected finals day matches streamed live on the Small Blacks TV Facebook page.

New Zealand Rugby General Manager Community and Provincial Rugby, Brent Anderson, said the Championship was an event that young rugby players aim for.

“It’s a really special opportunity for kids to represent not only their school, but also their province.

“It’s a fantastic event. The teams come to the capital with their teammates and for many it’s their first time to Wellington. They make new friends from all over New Zealand and have a lot of fun.

“All the teams in the tournament have worked really hard all season and this is their reward. It’s their chance to test their skills against kids from around the country.”

Small Blacks Ambassadors Kendra Cocksedge, who has recently returned from the victorious Women’s Rugby World Cup campaign in Ireland, and Keven Mealamu will attend the tournament.

The event will also provide a special opportunity for participants and spectators to view and take photos with the Women’s Rugby World Cup, which will be on display for the duration of the championship.

Rippa Rugby is a fun, safe non-contact form of the game where primary school-aged girls and boys participate together in mixed teams.

Teams are made up of five boys and five girls, aged 10 and 11-years old, giving youngsters from the smaller rural regions the chance to compete against larger schools from the cities.

All players will be up for an APPLAUD Award given out to a player who demonstrates good sportsmanship throughout the tournament. APPLAUD is a New Zealand Rugby initiative encouraging participants and supporters to be good sports and to stamp out anti-social side-line behaviour.

The Air New Zealand Rippa Rugby Championship is taking place with the support of Air New Zealand, New Zealand Community Trust and New Zealand Rugby Principal Partner adidas.

Tournament details:
• Venue: Wakefield Park, Adelaide Rd, Island Bay, Wellington
• Full draw:
• Live stream:

Monday 18 September
• 10.20am Kickoff
• 10.20am - 1.20pm Pool play

Tuesday 19 September
• 9am-12.45pm Quarter, Semi, Third and Fourth place playoffs
• 12.45pm Final
• 1.30pm Trophy and medal presentation

Participating Teams:


Waikato – Tokoroa North School
Southland - Hauroko Valley Primary School
Wanganui - St John's Hill School
South Canterbury - Pleasant Point Primary School
Northland - Wellsford School

Auckland - Holy Cross School Papatoetoe
Poverty Bay - Te Wharau School
Wellington - Windley School
Canterbury - Paparoa Street School
Wairarapa-Bush - Douglas Park School


Bay of Plenty - Maungatapu School
Counties Manukau - Roscommon School
Tasman - Brightwater School
Taranaki - Oakura School
West Coast - Grey Main School

Manawatu - College Street Normal School
North Harbour - Campbells Bay School
Hawkes Bay - Te Mata School
Otago - Arrowtown School
Thames Valley - Tairua School