NZ Under 20 team named for Tonga clash

Tim Marsden     27 Apr 2018     Tim Marsden

The team is:
1. Robert Cobb (Auckland)
2. Ricky Jackson (Otago)
3. Kaliopasi Uluilakepa (Wellington)
4. Laghlan McWhannell (Waikato)
5. John Akau'ola-Laula (Auckland)
6. Tom Florence (Taranaki)
7. Tom Christie - captain (Canterbury)
8. Devan Flanders (Hawke's Bay)
9. Carlos Price (Wellington)
10. Harry Plummer (Auckland)
11. Leicester Faingaanuku (Tasman)
12. Tanielu Tele'a (Auckland)
13. Billy Proctor (Wellington)
14. Bailyn Sullivan (Waikato)
15. Kaleb Trask (Bay of Plenty)

16. Flynn Thomas (Southland)
17. Sione Asi (Manawatu)
18. Tevita Mafileo (Bay of Plenty)
19. Waimana Riedlinger-Kapa (Auckland)
20. William Tremain (Hawke's Bay)
21. Hoskins Sotutu (Auckland)
22. Xavier Roe (Waikato)
23. Ciarahn Matoe (Taranaki)

Philpott said the team has been preparing well this week and are looking forward to getting on the field tomorrow.

“We are still very much in selection mode if we’re looking at the World Champs. We’ve got 29 players over here and we want all of them to get game time.

Tom Christie, returning from the 2017 campaign, will captain the side, with Harry Plummer vice-captain.

Philpott said while they don’t know too much about their opposition teams at the Oceania Championship, they are expecting tough battles.

“First up we have Tonga and we have come to expect they will have a physical team that looks to play an expansive style of rugby. 

“Our challenge will be keeping to our structures and systems, if we can implement our game plans and everyone gets a chance to stretch their legs we’ll be happy,” said Philpott.

Schedule for Oceania Under 20 Championship:
Friday 27 April v Tonga, 7.00pm NZT
Tuesday 1 May v Fiji, 5.00pm NZT
Saturday 5 May v Australia, 9.00pm NZT

Watch the Oceania Under 20 Championship
All games will be live streamed on the Oceania Rugby facebook page.