All Blacks Sevens named for Paris

Getty Images     08 Jun 2018     Getty Images

The team is:
1. Scott Curry - Bay of Plenty
2. Tim Mikkelson - Waikato
3. Tone Ng Shiu -Tasman
4. Salesi Rayasi - Auckland
5. Dylan Collier - Waikato
6. Bailey Simonsson - Bay of Plenty
7. Sam Dickson - Canterbury
8. Jona Nareki - Otago
9. Regan Ware - Bay of Plenty
10. Kurt Baker – co captain - Manawatu
11. Joe Ravouvou - Auckland
12. Sione Molia – co captain - Counties Manukau

There are two changes to the playing 12 from last weekend’s fifth placing in London, with Joe Ravouvou replacing the injured Etene Nanai-Seturo and Bailey Simonsson promoted from 13th man.

Kurt Baker and Sione Molia will retain the co-captaincy.

All Blacks Sevens Assistant Coach Tomasi Cama said the goal in Paris is clear.

“We started the series strong at the end of last year and we want to finish strong too.

“Last weekend, we performed well in the last two games, but we were disappointed in the results against Fiji and South Africa; we need to put together six good performances and this group of players is capable of that,” said Cama.

The players won’t be short on motivation, after visiting the grave site of the first All Blacks captain Dave Gallaher on the 101st anniversary of the Battle of Messines in WWI.

“We visited Passchendaele this week as a squad which was a moving experience and I think it was very motivating for the players.”

Saturday 9 June (kick off NZT)
8.28pm v Kenya (Saturday)
11.24pm v Samoa (Saturday)
5.14am v Fiji (Sunday)

Finals Day Sunday 10 June

Watch Paris Sevens on SKY Sport
Coverage will be broadcast on SKY Sport Pop Up 56