Wahine Round to celebrate the role of women in rugby     17 Sep 2018    

The Wahine Round will celebrate the roles, involvement and contribution of wahine (women) in rugby, including players, coaches, referees, fans and volunteers.

NZR Chief Rugby Officer Nigel Cass, said the round was rugby’s way of joining the national celebration of the anniversary of women’s suffrage in a uniquely rugby way.

“As our national game rugby is proud to join the celebrations for the 125 year anniversary of women’s suffrage. We’re encouraging fans to head out to matches to support their Mitre 10 and Farah Palmer Cup teams, wear something purple and enjoy the action.”

The Wahine Round kicks off on Wednesday 19 September at 7.35pm, the official date of Women’s Suffrage Day, when Manawatu host Tasman at Central Energy Trust Arena, Palmerston North in the Mitre 10 Cup.

Five double-header Farah Palmer and Mitre 10 Cup matches have been scheduled throughout the round, with four of the five Farah Palmer Cup matches to be shown live on SKY TV.

Fans attending the matches will be able to enjoy the celebrations, with Mitre 10 Cup and Farah Palmer Cup teams and stadium initiatives planned by Provincial Unions.

New Zealand Rugby referees are set to wear purple uniforms throughout the Wahine Round as an acknowledgement to the official colour of women’s suffrage. 

As the country commemorates suffrage, Cass said the themed round provided rugby with the opportunity to look at future progress in the women’s game and take stock of the progress that has been made.

“On the field woman are leading the growth of the game and there are more on-field opportunities than ever before for women and girls to play, coach and referee.

“Off the field New Zealand Rugby, Provincial Unions and clubs are working on providing women more opportunities to become involved in administrative roles, including key leadership positions and developing more inclusive, welcoming and diverse environments.”

The Wahine Round will take place 17th – 23rd September during Week 6 of the Mitre 10 Cup and Week 4 of the Farah Palmer Cup.

A full list of Wahine Round fixtures can be found at

About Suffrage 125
Suffrage 125 marks the achievement of women 125 years ago to secure the right to vote in New Zealand. By doing so New Zealand became the first country to grant women the right to vote. Officially, New Zealand women received that right on 19 September of 1893, after submitting a petition with approximately 32,000 signatures. As a result, throughout the country, New Zealand is celebrating Suffrage 125 on the 19th September 2018.