Canterbury lead Farah Palmer Cup

Getty Images

Lynn McConnell     29 Sep 2018     Getty Images

It was a clinical display from the defending champions which saw them cross for seven tries and retain the JJ Stewart Trophy.
Waikato had been on top after their 31-8 win over Manawatu in Hamilton on Saturday and they are now two points behind.
They are three points clear of Canterbury and Counties Manukau who will play on Sunday. Manawatu have slipped to fourth, six points off the pace.
Wellington's 50-10 win over North Harbour has seen the Capital city side move two points clear in the championship after Hawke's Bay beat Tasman 47-12 on Sunday.

Farah Palmer Cup, Round Five
Auckland 29 (Hasting Ieitaua, Corina Nanai, Mele Hufanga, Joanna Fanene, Moana Fineaso-Levi; Ruahei Demand 2 con) Bay of Plenty 34 (Jade Tuilaepa, Renee Wickliffe, Les Elder, Ora Williams tries; Wickliffe 4 con, 2 pen)
North Harbour 10 (Pia Tapsell try; Sophie Fisher con, pen) Wellington 50 (Timena Tuma'ai, Ayesha Leti-Liga 2, Angelica Uila, Isadora Laupola, Sinead  Toala Ryder, Alicia Print, Faasua Makisi tries; Amanda Rasch 5 con).
Waikato 31 (Karli Faneva, Chelsea Alley, Calista Wihone, Lonita Ngalu-Lavemei tries; Alley 4 con, pen) Manawatu 8 (Nicola Chase try; Corrinkek Windle pen). HT: 3-10
Taranaki 0 Otago 65 (Cheyenne Cunningham 3, Zoe Whatarau 2, Amy du Plessis, Sheree Hume, Greer Muir, Rosie Buchanan-Brown, Kilisitina Moata'ane, Kate Smith tries; Rosie Kelly 5 con).
Canterbury 39 ( Grace Brooker, Olivia McGoverne, Lucy Anderson, Sam Curtis, Kendra Cocksedge, Becky Davidson, Melanie Puckett tries; Cocksedge 2 con) Counties Manukau 22 (Aotearoa Matau 2, Justine Lavea, Langi Veainu tries; Arihana Marino-Tauhinu con)
Hawke's Bay 47 (Tori Iosefo 2, Hanna Brough, Niamph Jefferson 2, Gemma Woods, Felicity Powdrell tries; Emma Jenson 3 con, pen; Krysten Cotterell pen) Tasman 12 (Michelle Curry, Hayley Hutana tries; Hutana con).