Squad named for final New Zealand U21 trial camp     10 May 2006    

New Zealand Under 21 Assistant Coach Milton Haig said the selectors had been encouraged by the form of the players they had seen so far.

“We had the two trial matches against Canada A last month and that gave us a good indication of the pool of players we have available and we were certainly encouraged by what we saw,” Haig said.

“I am also sure that the inclusion of the age-grade Rebel Sport Super 14 players for the final trial camp will lift the level of competitiveness,” he said.

The Rebel Sport Super 14 players are George Pisi and Onosa’i Tololima-Auva’a of the Blues, Lelia Masaga of the Chiefs, Tanerau Latimer and Stephen Brett of the Crusaders, Richard Kahui and William Ripia of the Highlanders and Serge Lilo of the Hurricanes.

The camp will conclude with a trial match at 1.00pm on Monday 22 May at the Institute of Rugby.

The final trial squad is:

Auckland: Tevita Mailau, Taniela Moa, Lance Po-Ching, James Somerset, Onosa'i Tololima-Auva'a

Bay of Plenty: Solomon King, Tanerau Latimer, Lance MacDonald, Matthew Wallis

Canterbury: Aaron Bancroft, Stephen Brett, Phillip Burleigh, Matthew Holloway, Henry Johnstone, Rob McGregor, Ben Nowell, Michael Paterson, Kieran Read, Nick Thomson, Mikaele Tuu'u

Counties Manukau: Daniel Crichton, Lelia Masaga

Hawke’s Bay: Hikawera Elliot, Daniel Waenga

Manawatu: Leon Power

North Harbour: George Pisi, Michael Reid, Ryan Wilson

Otago: George Whitelock

Southland: Josh Berkhuis, Jamie Mackintosh

Taranaki: Brett Goodin, Michael Tagicakibau

Tasman: Robbie Flynn, Kris McNicholl

Waikato: Richard Kahui, James Kamana, Brendon Leonard, Jared Payne, William Ripia

Wellington: Dane Coles, Arden David, Serge Lilo, Seminar Manu, Albert Mathewson, Jeremy Thrush