New Zealand Under 21 team named to play England     13 Jun 2006    

Southland prop Jamie Mackintosh returns to captain the side and joins Hawke’s Bay hooker Hikawera Elliot and North Harbour prop Michael Reid in a new-look front row.

Canterbury’s Michael Paterson, who captained the side from lock against Italy last week, moves to blindside flanker and Canterbury’s Kieran Read comes in at No 8.

A new inside back pairing of Wellington halfback Alby Mathewson and Waikato first five William Ripia has been named.

On the left wing, Auckland’s James Somerset comes in for Counties Manukau’s Lelia Masaga, who moves to the right wing, Canterbury’s Aaron Bancroft is at centre and North Harbour’s George Pisi is at fullback.

Cooper said he had opted for a strong and mobile pack against a highly-rated England side, which won the age grade Six Nations tournament this year.

“They are a well-organised unit and we expect them to be particularly strong in the set pieces. If we want to win this match we will have to win quality ball and be smart about moving it, so continuity will be the key,” Cooper said.

Meanwhile, Southland hooker Matthew Holloway has been ruled out of the tournament because of a knee injury. Auckland’s Lance Po-Ching is his replacement.

New Zealand Under 21 team to play England: 1. Jamie Mackintosh (Southland, captain), 2. Hikawera Elliot (Hawke’s Bay), 3. Michael Reid (North Harbour), 4. Jeremy Thrush (Wellington), 5. Ryan Wilson (North Harbour), 6. Michael Paterson (Canterbury), 7. Serge Lilo (Wellington), 8. Kieran Read (Canterbury), 9. Alby Mathewson (Wellington), 10. William Ripia (Waikato), 11. James Somerset (Auckland), 12. Stephen Brett (Canterbury), 13. Aaron Bancroft (Canterbury), 14. Lelia Masaga (Counties Manukau), 15. George Pisi (North Harbour).

Reserves: 16. Lance Po-Ching (Auckland), 17. Matthew Wallis (Bay of Plenty), 18. Solomon King (Bay of Plenty), 19. Mikaele Tuu’u (Canterbury), 20. Taniela Moa (Auckland), 21. Robbie Flynn (Tasman), 22. Lance MacDonald (Bay of Plenty).

The match kicks off at 7pm Vichy time (5am Wednesday NZ time) and will be televised live on TV3.