NZ Under 21 team named to play South Africa     21 Jun 2006    

Captain Jamie Mackintosh moves from loosehead to tighthead prop in place of Michael Reid. Arden David-Perrot will play in the No 1 jersey while Lance Po-Ching replaces Hikawera Elliot at hooker.

Ryan Wilson comes in at lock for Michael Paterson, who moves to blindside flanker. Onosa’i Tololima-Auva’a, who played in the No 6 jersey against Australia last week, will be openside flanker in place of Serge Lilo.

The only change in the backline is at centre where Richard Kahui replaces Robbie Flynn.

Coach Cooper said the changes were reflective of the type of game New Zealand wanted to play against South Africa.

“South Africa is traditionally strong in the forwards and that is a part of their game that we will have to match them in. We have reviewed our performance against Australia and identified the areas that we were exposed in and will be looking to improve on that against South Africa,” he said.

Team to play South Africa: 1. Arden David-Perrot (Wellington), 2. Lance Po-Ching (Auckland), 3. Jamie Mackintosh (Southland, captain), 4. Jeremy Thrush (Wellington), 5. Ryan Wilson (North Harbour), 6. Michael Paterson (Canterbury), 7. Onosa’i Tololima-Auva’a (Auckland), 8. Kieran Read (Canterbury), 9. Alby Mathewson (Wellington), 10. William Ripia (Waikato), 11. James Somerset (Auckland), 12. Stephen Brett (Canterbury), 13. Richard Kahui (Waikato, vice captain), 14. Lelia Masaga (Counties Manukau), 15. George Pisi (North Harbour)

Reserves: 16. Hikawera Elliot (Hawke’s Bay), 17. Matthew Wallis (Bay of Plenty), 18. Mikaele Tuu’u (Canterbury), 19. Serge Lilo (Wellington), 20. Taniela Moa (Auckland), 21. Robbie Flynn (Tasman), 22. Jared Payne (Waikato)

The match in Marcel Michelin kicks off at 3.00am Thursday (NZ time) and will be televised live on TV3.