New Zealand Under 21 team named to play Australia

    25 Jun 2006

Southland prop Jamie Mackintosh moves from tighthead to loosehead prop in place of Wellington’s Arden David-Perrot, with Michael Reid of North Harbour coming it to tighthead prop.

Canterbury utility forward Michael Paterson moves to lock from blindside flanker for Bay of Plenty’s Solomon King and openside flanker Onosa’i Tololima-Auva’a of Auckland moves to the bench to make way for Wellington’s Serge Lilo.

The only change in the backline is at fullback where Waikato’s Jared Payne starts ahead of North Harbour’s George Pisi.

Greg Cooper said the semifinal loss to South Africa was a big disappointment for the team but the side would not be lacking motivation against Australia.

“The championship title may not be at stake in this match but it’s a game against one of our traditional rivals and we are certainly aiming to finish the tournament on a positive note,” he said.

New Zealand Under 21 team to play Australia: 1. Jamie Mackintosh (Southland, captain), Lance Po-Ching (Auckland), 3. Michael Reid (North Harbour), 4. Michael Paterson (Canterbury), 5. Ryan Wilson (North Harbour), 6. Solomon King (Bay of Plenty), 7. Serge Lilo (Wellington), 8. Kieran Read (Canterbury), 9. Alby Mathewson (Wellington), 10. William Ripia (Waikato), 11. James Somerset (Auckland), 12. Stephen Brett (Canterbury), 13. Richard Kahui (Waikato, vice captain), 14. Lelia Masaga (Counties Manukau), 15. Jared Payne (Waikato)

Reserves: 16. Hikawera Elliot (Hawke’s Bay), 17. Arden David-Perrot (Wellington), 18. Mikaele Tuu’u (Canterbury), 19. Onosa’i Tololima-Auva’a (Auckland), 20. Taniela Moa (Auckland), 21. George Pisi (North Harbour), 22. Lance MacDonald (Bay of Plenty)

The match in Marcel Michelin kicks off at 2.00am Monday (NZ time)