All Blacks announce team to play Samoa     02 Sep 2008    

1. Tony Woodcock
2. Andrew Hore
3. Greg Somerville
4. Anthony Boric
5. Ali Willliams
6. Jerome Kaino
7. Adam Thomson
8. Rodney So’oialo (c)
9. Jimmy Cowan
10. Dan Carter
11. Anthony Tuitavake
12. Ma’a Nonu
13. Conrad Smith
14. Richard Kahui
15. Mils Muliaina


16. Keven Mealamu
17. Neemia Tialata
18. Sione Lauaki
19. Piri Weepu
20. Stephen Donald
21. Isaia Toeava
22. Rudi Wulf

“It’s important for us to play before the final Philips Tri Nations Test,” said All Blacks coach Graham Henry. “We need to play together as a team before we go to Australia so we’re pleased to have the opportunity to play Samoa and to bring the All Blacks to Taranaki.”

Four players with injuries were not considered for selection; Richie McCaw (ribs), Sitiveni Sivivatu (ankle), Brad Thorn (hamstring) and John Afoa (shoulder). Canterbury’s Ben Franks has joined the All Blacks squad in New Plymouth to provide additional cover at prop.

Wellington’s Rodney So’oialo will captain the side in his 50th Test match for the All Blacks.