Sevens training squad named for 2009 World Cup

Gettys Images     20 Feb 2009     Gettys Images

The squad features 14 members of the current national Sevens squad, Ben Souness who has joined the squad, and two additional Rebel Sport Super 14 players who are in contention for the RWC Sevens tournament.

The Rebel Sport Super 14 players are the Hurricanes’ Victor Vito and the Chiefs’ Sosene Anesi.

Gordon Tietjens said while hampered by the recent injuries to his national squad, he was hopeful that those players selected would focus quickly on the Rugby World Cup opportunity.

Tietjens said he was happy with the support from the Rebel Sport Super 14 players and coaching staff.

“For this year’s Tournament, we took the approach of asking players to advise their interest in being considered for the Rugby World Cup Sevens. We then spoke to all the coaches about those players and how selection for the Sevens might fit within the Super 14 season.”

Tietjens said the preference was on those players who had played Sevens rugby, particularly in the New Zealand Sevens team setup.

“Both players have played in the New Zealand team previously so that is a plus.”

“Give our run of injuries, I am looking forward to working with this training squad to set up for and finalise the Rugby World Cup squad.”

The training camp will take place at Mount Maunganui on February 22-24.

The squad will be narrowed down to a Tournament squad of 12 for the RWC Sevens and will be announced at the conclusion of the camp. The Tournament takes place in Dubai from March 5-7.

New Zealand Sevens RWC training camp squad: Sosene Anesi (Waikato), Tomasi Cama (Manawatu), DJ Forbes (Captain, Counties Manukau), Paul Grant (Otago), Nigel Hunt (Bay of Plenty), Zar Lawrence (Bay of Plenty), Tim Nanai Williams (Counties Manukau), Lote Raikabula (Manawatu), Willie Rickards (Southland), Julian Savea (Wellington), Ben Souness (Taranaki), Save Tokula (Waikato), Chad Tuoro (Counties Manukau), Nafi Tuitavake (North Harbour), Tu Umaga Marshall (Wellington), Victor Vito (Wellington), Viliame Waqaseduadua (North Harbour).

Note: Edwin Cocker (broken leg), Solomon King (wrist), and Tim Mikkelson (shoulder) were not considered for selection due to injury.