adidas Rio Logo
  • Twitter

The Teams

Sevens is the fast-paced, shortened form of the game played by seven-a-side teams over seven minute halves. Both the men's and women's sevens teams have been the most successful international sevens teams in the world, competing regularly on the World Rugby Sevens World Series circuit.

New Zealand Women's Sevens have dominated the Women's Sevens Series, until 2016 claiming three series crowns since its inception in 2012. In the 2014/15 they finished the series 12 points clear of nearest rival Canada, and with it, automatic qualification to the Olympic Games in Rio De Janiero. They head into the Olympics as one of the favourites despite Australia winning the 2016 Women's Sevens Series title for the first time.

New Zealand Men's Sevens have twice lifted the Rugby World Cup of Sevens, in 2001 and 2013 and won four Commonwealth Games gold medals, alongside 12 Sevens Series titles. They have been guided by coach Sir Gordon Tietjens who has masterminded their success since 1994.

Men's Olympic Draw

Japan - 3:30am Wed 10th Aug (NZT)
Kenya - 8:30am Wed 10th Aug (NZT)
Great Britian - 3:30am Thu 11th Aug (NZT)
Finals TBC on Fri 12th August NZT


Women's Olympic Draw

Kenya - 2:30am Sun 7th Aug (NZT)
Spain - 7:30am Sun 7th Aug (NZT)
France - 2:30am Mon 8th Aug (NZT)
Finals TBC on Tues 9 August NZT