2010 New Zealand Schools squad announced     06 Sep 2010    

Mt Albert Grammar School won the tournament beating Hamilton Boys’ High School 20-17 in the final this afternoon.

The 24-strong squad was selected from school 1st XV teams around the country and through the season, four regional camps, and a regional tournament in July.

Four members of the 2009 New Zealand Schools side that toured Australia last year have been picked into this year’s squad which will play Tonga, Otago Under 19 and Australia.

Coach Jones said selecting the squad was tough this year due to the number of talented players in the running.

“New Zealand’s rugby stocks are looking very healthy and we are extremely lucky to have such a high calibre of players from which to select.

“There has been some spectacular rugby on show this season and we think the squad selected will be very competitive against the teams we will come up against on this tour,” he added.

The New Zealand Schools team will assemble on 22 September and play against Tonga Schools in Hamilton on 27 September, and against Otago Under 19 in Dunedin on 1 October. They will also play a one-off international against Australia Schools in Dunedin 6 October.

Meanwhile, the New Zealand Rugby Union also announced the New Zealand Under 17 development squad today.

The 2010 New Zealand Schools squad:

Fraser Armstrong# Hamilton Boys’ High School

Adam Burn Hamilton Boys’ High School

Scott Eade# Southland Boys’ High School

Jason Emery Palmerston North Boys’ High School

Michael Fatialofa# Mt Albert Grammar School

Siulogo Fotofili Wesley College

Michael Gardner St Bede’s College

Bryn Hall# St Peter’s College

Jacob Heenan Whanagrei Boys’ High School

Doug Horrocks# Fielding High School

Milford Keresoma# Mt Albert Grammar School

Joe Latta# Wellington College

James Lowe Nelson College

Matt McGahan Mt Albert Grammar School

Albert Nikoro *# Mt Albert Grammar School

Ope Peleseuma*# St Patrick’s College (Silverstream)

TJ Perenara* # Mana College

Matt Proctor St Patrick’s College (Town)

Tuki Raimona# Southland Boys’ High School

Nick Ross# Hamilton Boys’ High School

Topou Sapoaga Wellington College

Gafatasi Su’a Mt Albert Grammar School

Ofa Tuungafasi*# Mangere College

Junior Tofa Va’a Kelston Boys’ High School

* denotes member of the 2009 New Zealand Schools squad.
# denotes member of the 2009 New Zealand Under 17 development squad.

New Zealand Schools key dates

22 September: Assemble in Cambridge, Hamilton
27 September: New Zealand Schools v Tonga, Hamilton
1 October: New Zealand Schools v Otago Under 19, Dunedin
6 October: New Zealand Schools v Australia, Dunedin

New Zealand Under 17 Development Squad

Alex Hodgman Mt. Albert Grammar

Dillian Haloholo Mt. Albert Grammar

C.J.Carsons Reperoa College

Sean Brookman Mt Albert Grammar

Patrick Tu'ipulotu St. Peters’ College

Jackson Hemopo Palmerston Boys’ High

Joe Edwards St. Kentigan’s College

Jacob Skeen Hamilton Boys’ High

Sonny Aliifaalogo Wesley College

Adam Burn Hamilton Boys’ High

Mitchell Brown New Plymouth Boys High School

Matthew Elia St Thomas of Canterbury College

David Adams Auckland Grammar

Eugene Teauraki St. Peter’s College

Matthew Axtens Reporoa College

Ardie Savea Rongotai College

Sam Quinn Westlake Boys’ High School

Nathan Hull John McGlashan College

Morgan Mitchell Gore High School

Matt McGahan Mount. Albert Grammar

Wharenui Hawera St. Peters College

Calvary Fonoti Onehunga High

Jade Te Rure Palmerston Boys High

Michael Collins Otago Boys High

Tamati Samuels Gisborne Boys High

Beaudine Waaka Gisborne Boys High

Ngani Laumape Palmerston Boys High

Jordan Payne Sacred Heart College

Jason Emery Palmerston Boys High

Shayne Anderson St Bede’s College

Aviata Silago St Patrick’s (Silverstream)

Penekolo Latu Gisborne Boys High

Joseph Weber Hamilton Boys High

Manihera Eden Napier Boys High

Tauasosi Tuiamavave St Patrick’s College (Town)