English Women top, NZ Women's Sevens lead RWC 2013 second band

International Rugby Board     08 Feb 2013     International Rugby Board

The English ran out 29-12 winners in the final after an excellent weekend where they had to beat the champions from Dubai, New Zealand, twice on the way to lifting the title. This victory puts England top of the seedings and they will be joined in the first band by Australia, Canada and USA for the RWC Sevens 2013 Pool Allocation Draw, which takes place in Moscow on 28 February.

It was also a good weekend for the home team and while Vanesha McGee’s side were beaten in the final, the 18 points gained by USA was enough to move them up into Band One for the draw.

Band Two will be populated by New Zealand, South Africa, Spain and Russia while the third tier will include Netherlands, China, France and Japan. It was a pleasing two days for Russia, who won the plate competition and fully deserve their strong showing in the second band, a fact that will go down very well among their supporters, who are already gearing up for the big tournament in June.

RWC Sevens 2013 will be staged at Moscow’s premier sports venue, Luzhniki Stadium, which has previously hosted the Olympic Games and the final of the UEFA Champions League.

England play-maker Heather Fisher, who was named player of the tournament in Houston, is pleased with how the team is preparing for Moscow.

She said: “Women’s Rugby Sevens is really competitive these days and I think that bodes well for the Rugby World Cup Sevens in June… The final (in Houston) could have involved any one of the top eight sides because there is very little between everyone. This is a fantastic result for us and a platform us to build on for the next few months heading into the World Cup. It means the world to us.”

Women's Rugby World Cup Sevens rankings' after Houston leg of IRB Women’s Sevens World Series

1. England 48
2. Australia 46
3. Canada 36
4. USA 36


5. New Zealand 34
6. South Africa 30
7. Spain 28
8. Russia 28


9. Netherlands 26
10. China 10
11. France 6
12. Japan 5


13. Tunisia 0
14. Ireland 0
15. Fiji 0
16. S America qualifier 0

The four bands of four for the women are as follows:

Band 1: Australia, England, Canada, USA
Band 2: New Zealand, South Africa, Spain, Russia
Band 3: Netherlands, China, France, Japan
Band 4: Tunisia, Ireland, Fiji, (S American Qualifier).

Note: Bands 3 and 4 may change slightly depending on the result of the South American qualifying tournament. Based on points attained, Japan may be displaced from Band 3 if Brazil wins that event, which takes place in Rio de Janeiro from 23-24 February.