All Blacks Sevens lead RWC 2013 Seedings     08 Feb 2013    

With just one round left before the PAD in Moscow, opportunities are fading fast for sides that want to move up a band before then.

Men's Rugby World Cup Sevens rankings' after the Hertz Sevens of the HSBC Sevens World Series:

1. New Zealand 410
2. Fiji 334
3. South Africa 316
4. Samoa 307
5. England 299
6. Australia 224


7. Wales 187
8. Argentina 176
9. France 136
10. Kenya 112
11. Scotland 81
12. USA 69


13. Canada 64
14. Portugal 48
15. Spain 37
16. Russia 19
17. Tonga 19
18. Zimbabwe 12


19. Japan 10
20. Hong Kong 5
21. Georgia 0
22. Tunisia 0
23. Philippines 0
24. CONSUR qualifier* 0

If the PAD took place today (6 February), below would be the band seeding. The tournament coming up this weekend (in Las Vegas) will finalise the seedings:

The four bands of six for the men, after Wellington, are as follows:

Band 1: New Zealand, Fiji, South Africa, Samoa, England, Australia
Band 2: Wales, Argentina, France, Kenya, Scotland, USA
Band 3: Canada, Portugal, Spain, Russia, Tonga, Zimbabwe
Band 4: Japan, Hong Kong, Georgia, Tunisia, Philippines, (South American Qualifier).

The men’s seeding takes into account the past two full HSBC Seven World Series seasons as well as the events in the current season up to the date of the PAD. The IRB Women's Challenge Cup tournaments held last year provided international rugby sevens competition for the first time since RWC Sevens 2009 and this, together with the first two legs of the inaugural IRB Women's Sevens World Series, has enabled the current playing strength of teams to be used to band teams.

For the men's competition, teams will be divided into six pools of four and play in a round-robin format over the first two days before progressing to the knock-out phase on the final day. The women's teams will be split into four pools of four and play in a round-robin format over the first day of their competition (29 June) before progressing to knock-out phase on the final day. This will provide a total of 100 Sevens matches over the three days.

The 24 men’s teams and 16 women’s teams have nearly all been determined with only the South America region yet to hold its qualifying tournament. That event will take place from 23-24 February in Rio de Janeiro, the location for Rugby’s historic return to the Olympic Games programme in 2016.

The tournament website can be found at