Hurricanes named, but wait and see over Smith and Perenara

Getty Images and James Mortimer     29 Mar 2013     Getty Images

The team will have an afternoon match with the newest team to the competition, the Southern Kings. This will be the Hurricanes’ first South African opponent of the 2013 season.

The teams will meet at Westpac Stadium at 4.35pm on Saturday, in the side’s only afternoon fixture at home this season. The Hurricanes are offering a special family deal for the match of $40 for two adults and all the kids to come along. For more information on the deal see here

Dane Coles will return to the starting line-up after a two week lay-off with a lower ankle strain and Andre Taylor returns to fullback jersey. There are a few brackets to the starting line-up, as the coaches wait to see how the team come through training on Thursday. TJ Perenara has a calf strain and Conrad Smith a bruised heel. Both will need to complete training before they will be cleared to play for Saturday’s match. If not, that would see Chris Smylie start at halfback with Samisoni Fisilau making his debut on the bench. Alapati Leiua would move into centre and Matt Proctor debuting on the wing.

Ash Dixon will wear the back-up hooker jersey again allowing Motu Matu’u to recover from his shoulder injury. Changes on the bench include Mark Reddish, who is back in the mix after a hamstring injury early on in the competition, and Reynold Lee-Lo takes jersey number 22 to round off the bench.

Jeffery Toomaga-Allen will remain on the side-line this week with an injured sternum. Blade Thomson is still unavailable due to his high ankle sprain for another 3-4 weeks.

The Hurricanes team is as follows:

1. Ben Franks
2. Dane Coles
3. Ben May
4. Jeremy Thrush
5. Jason Eaton
6. Brad Shields
7. Karl Lowe
8. Victor Vito
9. TJ Perenara / Chris Smylie
10. Beauden Barrett
11. Julian Savea
12. Tim Bateman
13. Conrad Smith (c) / Alapati Leiua
14. Alapati Leiua / Matt Proctor
15. Andre Taylor


16. Ash Dixon
17. Reggie Goodes
18. Mark Reddish
19. Faifili Levave
20. Chris Smylie / Samisoni Fisilau
21. Tusi Pisi
22. Reynold Lee-Lo