2014 Investec Super Rugby NZ squads revealed     30 Oct 2013    

Among the 185 players captured by franchises, are 25 players who have been named in the Wider Training Groups for the Blues, Chiefs, Hurricanes, Crusaders and Highlanders today.

New Zealand Rugby General Manager Professional Rugby Neil Sorensen congratulated all those named in Super Rugby squads today.

“We know that Investec Super Rugby is the world’s premier inter-provincial rugby competition which boasts the best rugby players in the world and the standard of rugby is really is outstanding.

“It is always an exciting time when players are named in Super Rugby squads. This competition is obviously the shop floor for showcasing potential All Blacks talent so it’s a great achievement for those named for the first time today in a squad. We are incredibly proud that New Zealand continues to produce such great talent," Sorensen said.

The wider squads include six from this year’s New Zealand Under 20 squad, and nine from the 2012 NZ Under 20 side. They also feature five players who have played in Gordon Tietjens All Blacks Sevens’ squads over the last two years.

Tasman has produced much of the new talent for next year’s Super Rugby squads. After winning their ITM Cup Championship Final and promotion into next year’s Premiership, the Tasman Makos today boast six new players who have trampolined into Super Rugby next year.

Among the Tasman selections are first five-eighth Marty Banks and halfback Billy Guyton (WTG) who have both been named with the Hurricanes. Their Super Rugby picks follow a remarkable two years for the former Heartland Championship players. Banks ran out for Buller and Guyton for North Otago in the 2012 Heartland Championship.

Their Makos teammates loose forward Liam Squire and winger James Lowe have both been picked into the Chiefs secured 32, while another Tasman loose forward Tevita Kolomatangi has been named in their Wider Training Group.

Tasman midfielder Kieron Fonotia returns to the Crusaders’ Wider Training Group.

Other new names to feature include Sam Prattley, Joe Edwards, Patrick Tuipulotu, Benji Marshall, Pita Ahki, Lolagi Visinia, Matt Symons, Ash Dixon, Mark Abbott, Hadleight Parkes, Cardiff Vaega, Mitchell Drummond, Kane Hames, Tom Franklin, TJ Ioane, Gareth Evans and Frae Wilson.

Among the talent borrowed from overseas are Argentinian prop Matias Diaz, and Fijian monster winger Nemani Nadolo.

For full squad player details click on the links below:

The Blues 2014 squad and WTG
The Chiefs 2014 squad and WTG
The Hurricanes 2014 squad and WTG
The Crusaders 2014 squad and WTG
The Highlanders 2014 squad and WTG