Black Ferns draw USA, Ireland and Kazakhstan for WRWC2014

Getty Images and James Mortimer     31 Oct 2013     Getty Images

The much-awaited draw took place in the Hotel de Ville in Paris today, and created some mouth-watering clashes next August.

Hosts France are a in tough pool with Australia, Wales and South Africa while 2010 runners-up England will face Canada, Spain and Samoa.

Hosts France have been drawn in Pool C with Australia, Wales and South Africa, in what is set to be a tough and physical pool, while 2010 runners-up England will play Canada, Spain and Samoa in Pool A.

In Pool B, defending champions New Zealand will face tough clashes against USA and Ireland as well as Asian qualifiers Kazakhstan as they attempt to win a fifth successive title.

Speaking after the draw at Hotel de Ville in Paris, IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: "This is a really exciting day for Women's Rugby. We now know the pools for France 2014, and fans are going to see some really excellent matches."

"The World Cup in 2010 saw a great standard of Rugby, but I believe the matches next August will see an even greater level of intensity and skill."

"I wish all 12 teams the very best over the coming year as they prepare for this magnificent event."

Women's Rugby World Cup 2014 will take place in Paris from August 1-17. The pool stages will take place at FFR Marcoussis, with the semi-finals and final being played at Stade Jean Bouin.

Pool A - England, Canada, Spain, Samoa
Pool B - New Zealand, USA, Ireland, Kazakhastan
Pool C - Australia, France, Wales, South Africa

The pool allocation draw was streamed live on All the information on the draw and Women's Rugby World Cup can be found on this site, along with ticket and travel information as it becomes available.

The fixtures and kick-off times for #WRWC2014 will be announced at a later date.


New Zealand and USA last met on the WRWC stage back in the 1998 final when the Black Ferns won 44-12 to be crowned champions for the first time

The last team to beat New Zealand in a Women’s Rugby World Cup match were the USA, 7-0 in the semi-finals of the inaugural tournament in 1991

Pool B features two of the three nations to have lifted the trophy in inaugural champions USA and four-time winners New Zealand

For the second tournament in a row the USA, Ireland and Kazakhstan have been drawn in the same pool

USA and Ireland actually met twice at WRWC 2010, the girls in green winning the pool encounter 22-12 but then losing the fifth place semi-final to the Women’s Eagles 40-3. They have met four times on the WRWC stage in total, the Americans winning three of the four but the margins having reduced significantly since they won 76-0 in the 1994 quarter-finals!

Kazakhstan can boast a won two, lost one record against Ireland at a Women's Rugby World Cup. Kazakhstan won both meetings in the 1998 tournament, but lost 37-3 in 2010.

New Zealand have never played Ireland or Kazakhstan before.