England make one change for All Blacks

Getty Images and James Mortimer     15 Nov 2013     Getty Images

The Leicester Tigers tight-head prop replaces Bath Rugby’s David Wilson, who drops to the bench in the only change to the XV that defeated Argentina 31-12 last time out.

Hooker Dylan Hartley, first capped in 2008, will win his 50th cap alongside Cole in the front row after a man of the match performance in the victory over the Pumas.

There are two other changes to the 23, with London Wasps loose-head prop Matt Mullan coming on to the replacements’ bench in place of the injured Alex Corbisiero and Ben Youngs reclaiming the place of Danny Care after recovering from a hip injury.

Lancaster said: “It’s a great achievement for Dylan to reach 50 caps. We are a young side but one that is growing with every game and it’s important to have leaders like Dylan.

“We have had some enforced changes with Alex and Mako Vunipola unavailable and we have been unable to consider a number of players due to short- and long-term injuries.

“But we are ready for the challenge of playing a top quality side in New Zealand and are excited about playing at Twickenham. The atmosphere was amazing for this game last year – the crowd made a real difference and I'm sure they can help inspire us again on Saturday.”

England team to face New Zealand

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 20 caps)
14 Chris Ashton (Saracens, 36 caps)
13 Joel Tomkins (Saracens, 2 caps)
12 Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 7 caps)
11 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints, 33 caps)
10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 18 caps)
9 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints, 11 caps)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 14 caps)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 49 caps)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 42 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 13 caps)
5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 24 caps)
6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 22 caps)
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt, 19 caps)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 4 caps)


16 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 11 caps)
17 Matt Mullan (London Wasps, 1 cap)
18 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 30 caps)
19 Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers, 18 caps)
20 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 14 caps)
21 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 34 caps)
22 Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers, 59 caps)
23 Alex Goode (Saracens, 12 caps)