New Zealand Under 20s named for match against Wales     03 Jun 2018    

New Zealand Under 20 Head Coach Craig Philpott has named a strong team for their World Rugby U20 Championship match against Wales tomorrow. 

New Zealand will face Wales in Béziers, France on Sunday, kick off 4.30pm (2.30am Monday NZT).

The team is;
1. Rob Cobb -  Auckland
2. Ricky Jackson -  Otago
3. Kaliopasi Uluilakepa -  Wellington
4. Laghlan McWannell -  Waikato
5. Will Tucker -  Canterbury
6. Tom Florence Taranaki
7. Tom Christie - captain Canterbury
8. Devan Flanders -  Hawke's Bay
9. Xavier Roe -  Waikato
10. Harry Plummer -  Auckland
11. Caleb Clarke -  Auckland
12. Tanielu Tele'a -  Auckland
13. Billy Proctor -   Wellington
14. Bailyn Sullivan -   Waikato
15. Vilimoni Koroi -  Otago

16. Flynn Thomas -  Southland
17. Sione Asi -  Manawatu
18. Tevita Mafileo -  Bay of Plenty
19. John Akau'ola-Laula -  Auckland
20. Will Tremain -   Hawke's Bay
21. Kaleb Trask -  Bay of Plenty
22. Scott Gregory -  Northland
23. Leicester Faingaanuku -   Tasman

Coach Craig Philpott has made eight changes to the starting line-up. 

Captain Tom Christie holds onto the number 7 jersey, while fellow flanker Tom Florence and lock Will Tucker will start again after industrious performances in the opening match. 

In the backline, impressive halfback Xavier Roe secures his second start, while Billy Proctor, Bailyn Sullivan and Vilimoni Koroi all retain starting spots.

Tomorrow’s opposition, Wales, also secured a first up victory, holding out a fast finishing Australia for a 26-21 win.

The New Zealand Under 20 team opened their campaign with a confident 67-0 win over Japan.

World Rugby U20 Championship fixtures
New Zealand v Japan – WIN 67-0
Thursday 31 May
7am (NZT)
New Zealand v Wales
Monday 4 June
2.30am (NZT)
New Zealand v Australia
Friday 8 June
7am (NZT)