Canterbury extend lead in Farah Palmer Cup Premiership, while Wellington steal win over Counties

GettyImages 1332797028

Utilising the power of their scrum to deny the home any advantage in that department, Canterbury made good use of the strong breeze to get out to a 19-0 lead at half-time and then confined Auckland to only one try in the second.

As a result Canterbury moved seven points clear in the competition, although they have still to have the bye. Waikato are in second position on 11 points with Auckland and Counties Manukau (also to still have the bye) sharing third place on 10 points.

Wellington featured in a thrilling last-gasp win over Counties Manukau at Sky Stadium. The visitors looked set for a win after going out to a 25-21 lead, but Wellington spent the game battling back into the contest. They succeeded again when forcing a turnover in a tackle and then kicking into Counties Manukau territory.

Looking to use their lineout maul after gaining a penalty and pushing further into attack but conceding possession. With time up, Ngan-Woo stole a Counties Manukau lineout throw for Wellington to move the ball to the wing, and then back infield.

Gaining an advantage at the breakdown Wellington made use of the overlap for wing Harmony Ioane to score in the corner to claim a 26-25 win, two minutes into injury time.

Waikato were able to withstand a determined Otago third quarter which saw Otago get within seven points with 21 minutes of the game remaining. Waikato had been guilty of losing some discipline which allowed Otago back in the contest, however, they were only able to claim a bonus point, their first point of the season.

In the Championship, Manawaū romped to a 67-12 win over Hawke's Bay to move to the head of the table, four points clear of North Harbour who beat Taranaki 24-10 at Albany while Northland are third, one point back, on 10 points having beaten Tasman 27-0 in Motueka.

Bunnings Farah Palmer Cup – Round 4

Manawatū Cyclones 67 Hawke's Bay Tuis 12

Manawatū Cyclones 67 (Jayme Nuku, Rangi-Marie Sturmey, Kaia Walker-Waitoa 2, Lauran Balsillie 2, Layla Sae 2, Crystal Mayes, Elinor-Plum King, Janna Vaughan tries; Walker-Waitoa con; Carys Dallinger 4 con; Laura Claridge con) Hawke's Bay Tuis 12 (Amelia Pasikala, Michaela Baker tries; Krysten Cottrell con). HT: 43-0

Wellington Pride 26 Counties Manukau Heat 25

Wellington Pride 26 (Georgia Daals, Ayesha Leti-l'iga, Harmony Ioane tries; Amanda Rasch con, 3 pen) Counties Manukau Heat 25 (Kalo Cuthers 2, Shannon Muru tries; Hazel Tubic 2 con, pen). HT: 10-14

Otago Spirit 22 Waikato 29

Otago Spirit 22 (Daimzel Rongokea, Cheyenne Cunningham, Teilah Ferguson tries; Sheree Hume 2 con, pen) Waikato 29 (Chelsea Alley, Victoria Edmonds 2, Mia Anderson, Kennedy Simon tries; Ariana Bayler 2 con). HT: 10-24

North Harbour Hibiscus 24 Taranaki Whio 10

North Harbour Hibiscus 24 (Jessie Courtenay Malupo, Wairakau Greig, Kate Williams, Tenaija Fletcher tries; Hayley Hutana 2 con) Taranaki Whio 10 (Keighley Simpson, Aroha Nuku tries ). HT: 7-10

Tasman 0 Northland 27

Tasman 0 Northland 27 (Sela Moata'ane, Victoria Subritzky-Nafatali 2, Tiaho Mahanga, Krystal Murray tries; Murray con). HT: 0-10

Auckland Storm 7 Canterbury 32

Auckland Storm 7 (Aldora Itunu try; Ruahei Demant con) Canterbury 32 (Grace Steinmetz, Olivia McGoverne, Phillipa Love, Amy Rule, Jorja Miller tries; Kendra Cocksedge 2 con; Rosie Kelly pen). HT: 0-19

Ngā Karere o te Wā

Tirohia Te Katoa