Coles set to become most capped Hurricanes forward

GettyImages 1251066810

The Wellington stalwart will hit 119 caps on Saturday, passing Jeffrey Toomaga-Allen’s record of 118.

The Hurricanes are on the hunt for their sixth straight win after beating the Chiefs 31 – 18 at Sky Stadium a week ago.

And whilst the Crusaders may have won the title, there’s still plenty up to grabs in this final round, with the Hurricanes able to secure second place overall if they and the Crusaders were to come out on top in their respective games.

As far as the starting XV goes, there is very little change to Saturday’s forward pack.

Ben May will play his 98th and final game for the side before ending his Super Rugby career, whilst Ardie Savea will just miss out on becoming a centurion in playing his 99th game for the Hurricanes.


In the backs, Jamie Booth and Billy Proctor will get their first starts of Super Rugby Aotearoa, TJ Perenara is unavailable as his wife is due to give birth to their first child.

Ricky Riccitelli will fill the spot of back-up hooker, getting a place on the bench ahead of Asafo Aumua who has been sick all week.


Jonathan Taumateine and Salesi Rayasi could potentially get some minutes on the paddock too, after being named on the bench for the first time this year.

A win will mean the Hurricanes round out the year by bringing up 200 Super Rugby wins.

The Hurricanes team to face the Highlanders this weekend is:


1. Ben May
2. Dane Coles [C]
3. Tyrel Lomax
4. James Blackwell
5. Scott Scrafton
6. Reed Prinsep
7. Du’Plessis Kirifi
8. Ardie Savea
9. Jamie Booth
10. Jackson Garden-Bachop
11. Wes Goosen
12. Peter Umaga-Jensen
13. Billy Proctor
14. Vince Aso
15. Jordie Barrett

16. Ricky Riccitelli
17. Tevita Mafileo
18. Pouri Rakete-Stones
19. Liam Mitchell
20. Devan Flanders
21. Jonathan Taumateine
22. Salesi Rayasi
23. Chase Tiatia


Ngā Karere o te Wā

Tirohia Te Katoa