Hurricanes re-jig forward pack for Highlanders clash

GettyImages 1249493014

The Hurricanes are looking for their second win of Investec Super Rugby Aotearoa, after taking down the Chiefs 25 – 18 in Hamilton last week.


Due to minor injuries, Dane Coles, Fraser Armstrong, Gareth Evans and Reed Prinsep have not been included in the squad.


It means, Ben May, Asafo Aumua and Devan Flanders have been called up to the starting XV.


There’s also been a change at first five, as Fletcher Smith rotates with Jackson Garden-Bachop and Vince Aso has made his way back into the midfield – a heavily contested position.


The Hurricanes have won the last four games at Sky Stadium against the Highlanders.


Sunday also doubles as ‘club night’, where players and fans are encouraged to wear their club jersey to the stadium – a tribute to the grassroots game. Grab your tickets HERE


The Hurricanes team to take on the Highlanders at Sky Stadium is:


1             Ben May            

2             Asafo Aumua   

3             Tyrel Lomax      

4             James Blackwell

5             Scott Scrafton  

6             Devan Flanders

7             Du’Plessis Kirifi

8             Ardie Savea      

9             TJ Perenara [C]

10           Fletcher Smith 

11           Ben Lam             

12           Ngani Laumape

13           Vince Aso          

14           Kobus Van Wyk

15           Jordie Barrett




16.          Ricky Riccitelli   

17.          Pouri Rakete-Stones     

18.          Alex Fidow        

19.          Vaea Fifita         

20.          Murphy Taramai             

21.          Jamie Booth     

22.          Billy Proctor      

23.          Wes Goosen    


Ngā Karere o te Wā

Tirohia Te Katoa