2020 NZ Rugby National Referee Squad Announced

GettyImages 1137678877

Former Black Ferns Sevens player Tiana Ngawati and HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series Referee Emily Hsieh are the two new referees in the squad.


Hsieh, who referees on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, has recently moved to New Zealand from the United States following her appointment as the new NZR Women’s Referee Development Manager.


Four match officials are also part of referee team selected to the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, including Richard Kelly, James Doleman, Lauren Jenner and Emily Hsieh.


This year’s squad includes five referees who will perform Assistant Referee Duties at Super Rugby level.


2020 National Referee Squad

* Denotes Super Rugby Assistant Referee


Glen Jackson (Bay of Plenty) - Professional Referee

Mike Fraser (Wellington) - Professional Referee

Ben O’Keeffe (Wellington) - Professional Referee

Paul Williams (Taranaki) - Professional Referee

Brendon Pickerill (North Harbour) - Professional Referee

James Doleman (Otago) * - Professional Referee & HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series referee

Dan Waenga (Hawke’s Bay) *                                 

James Munro (Canterbury) *

Angus Mabey (Auckland) *                              

Rebecca Mahoney (Wairarapa Bush) *

Brittany Andrew (Manawatu)

Nick Briant (Bay of Plenty)

Richard Kelly (Taranaki) - HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series referee

Cam Stone (Taranaki)                                                        

Tipene Cottrell (Hawke’s Bay)

Maggie Cogger-Orr (Auckland)

Lauren Jenner (Counties Manukau) - HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series referee

Stu Curran (Manawatu)

Jono Bredin (Otago)

Marcus Playle (Auckland)

Chris Paul (South Canterbury)

Richard Gordon (Wellington)

Hugh Reed (Hawke’s Bay)

Mike Winter (Waikato)

Nick Hogan (Wellington)

George Haswell (Canterbury)

Dan Moore (Canterbury)

Larissa Collingwood (Waikato)

Emily Hsieh (Wellington) - HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series referee

Tiana Ngawati (Bay of Plenty) – Sevens Referee specialist


Super Rugby Television Match Officials

Aaron Patterson (Waikato)

Glenn Newman (North Harbour)

Shane McDermott (Bay of Plenty)

Chris Hart (Otago)


National Coaches

Chris Pollock

Kane McBride

Colin Hawke

Brent Murray

Rob Parkes

Chris Morgan

Paul Honiss


National Selectors

Paul Honiss

Matt Peters

Nicky Inwood

Errol Brain


View all