Canterbury forced to work hard to gain finals berth

GettyImages 1181974562

Counties Manukau poured everything into their effort with some determined defensive play which contained Canterbury for long periods, however, the home side held their composure and came home strongly when the Counties Manukau effort tired.


On Saturday Auckland claimed its place when beating Wellington 43-24 in Auckland.


Scoring six tries to three with Patricia Maliepo landing five conversions and a penalty goal, Auckland were deserved winners over a dangerous Wellington Pride team.


Otago secured a home final in the Championship when beating Tasman 64-10 in Dunedin on Saturday. They were helped by a 24-point haul from Rosie Kelly who scored two tries and added seven conversions among Otago's 10-try haul.


Hawke's Bay will meet them in next week's final after they beat Northland 46-31

Mitre 10 Farah Palmer Cup Semifinal results:




Auckland 43 (Ruahei Demant, Jeoannha Naime-Purcell, Princess Elliot 2, Joanna Fanene, Kiritapu Demant, tries; Patricia Maliepo 5 con, pen) Wellington 24 (Te Amohaere Ngata-Aerengamate, Ayesha Leti-l'iga 2 tries; Amanda Rasch 3 con, pen). HT: 24-10


Canterbury 31 (Olivia McGoverne, Alana Bremner 2, Grace Brooker tries; Kendra Cocksedge con, 3 pen) Counties Manukau 22 (Langi Veainu, Grace Gago, Aotearoa Matau tries; Hazel Tubic 2 con, pen). HT: 9-12



Otago 64 (Rosie Buchanan-Brown, Rosie Kelly 2, Greer Muir, Kiana Wereta, Morgan Henderson, Sheree Hume, Cheyenne Cunningham, Teilah Ferguson, Hinemoa Watene tries; Kelly 7 con) Tasman 10 (Sydnee Wilkins, Rebecca Kersten tries). HT: 35-0


Hawke's Bay 46 (Emma Jensen, Tori Iosefo, Michaela Baker, Krysten Cottrell, Forne Burkin, Cortez Te Pou, Kathleen Brown, Liana Mikaele-Tu'u tries; Cottrell 3 con) Northland 31 (Victoria Subritzky-Nafatali, Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate, Savannah Bodman 2 tries; Krystal Murray 4 con, pen). HT: 27-21


Farah Palmer Cup finals confirmed


Premiership Final – Canterbury v Auckland
Saturday 26th October, 12.05pm
Rugby Park, Christchurch


Championship Final – Otago v Hawke’s Bay
Sunday 27th October, 12.05pm
Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin



View all