Bay of Plenty Volcanix to be coached by former Steamers

GettyImages 1025672382
Rodney Gibbs is head coach, while former All Black Tanerau Latimer and Matt Wallis are his assistants in a new look coaching team. 

The Volcanix welcome back new Black Fern hooker Luka Connor and Christine Corbett, who both missed last season with ACL injuries. 


Connor made her Black Ferns debut in San Diego at the Super Series earlier this year. After an impressive 2017 Farah Palmer Cup campaign, Connor ruptured her ACL in the off-season and was unable to play for the Volcanix last year. She’s notched up four Tests this year and will be raring to go for her provincial side.

Bay of Plenty have 17 returning players, from the side that finished fifth in the Premiership last year. They defeated Auckland in their relegation match, however, the match ended up being irrelevant because of Northland’s entrance into the Farah Palmer Cup this year. Black Ferns skipper Les Elder is included in the 30-strong squad and experienced outside back Renee Wickliffe. Fellow Black Fern Karli Faneva has joined Bay of Plenty from Waikato, while veteran Janina Khan is also back in the setup after last playing for the Volcanix in 2016. 

Keep an eye out for Arorangi Tauranga and Azalleyah Maaka who both played in the New Zealand Under 18 team that won gold at the Youth Olympics last year. Also, schoolgirl Layla Te Riini and Commonwealth Games volleyballer Kelsie Wills. 
2018 Farah Palmer Cup result: 
5th in Premiership

2019 Farah Palmer Cup fixtures:
Week 1: Bay of Plenty v Counties Manukau, Sat 31 August 2.30pm – Tauranga Domain 
Week 2: Wellington v Bay of Plenty, Sat 7 September 1pm – Jerry Collins Stadium, Porirua
Week 3: Bay of Plenty v Auckland, Sat 14 September 2.30pm – Rugby Park, Whakatane
Week 4: Waikato v Bay of Plenty, Sat 21 September 12.35pm – FMG Stadium Waikato (DH)
Week 5: Bay of Plenty BYE
Week 6: Bay of Plenty v Manawatu, Sat 5 October 12.35pm – Tauranga Domain (DH)
Week 7: Canterbury v Bay of Plenty, Sun 13 October 2.05pm – Orangetheory Stadium (DH)
(DH) – Double Header with Mitre 10 Cup fixture

2019 Bay of Plenty Volcanix squad:
Amanda Aldridge, Luka Connor, Christine Corbett, Natalie Delamere, Les Elder, Karli Faneva, Tynealle Fitzgerald, Nadia Flavell, Lily Florence, Baye Jacob, Janina Khan, Tracey Lemon, Azalleyah Maaka, Mystery McLean Kora, Sela Moataane, Anahera Mohi, Angel Mulu, Danielle Paenga, Tania-Rose Raharuhi, Kendra Reynolds, Olivia Richardson, Autumn-Rain Stephens Daly, Sapphire Tapsell, Arorangi Tauranga, Layla Te Riini, Jade Tuilaepa, Natalie Walford, Renee Wickliffe, Kelsie Wills, Christie Yule


View all