Olivia Ward-Duin to captain Harbour in FPC

GettyImages 1052016100
Ward-Duin travelled with the Black Ferns to San Diego for the Super Series but didn’t feature. She came off the bench against the Wallaroos in both Perth and Auckland. Justine Vizirgianakis has been named vice-captain. 

The Hibiscus have lost three very experienced players in former Black Fern and skipper Becky Wood, Cristo Tofa and Stacey Tupe. Tofa has moved to Auckland, while Tupe has linked up with new side, Northland.

Flanker Pia Tapsell returns for North Harbour. She burst onto the international scene this year, starting in all six Black Ferns Tests. 

The 28-woman squad features players ranging in age from 17 to 47. New head coach Duncan McGrory has named rookies Tanaija Fletcher and Hailey Beale, who play flanker and halfback respectively and fullback Raquel Garcia and lock Anita Berry. 

North Harbour won two and lost five games in 2018, losing to Wellington in their Championship semifinal. 

McGrory is joined by assistant coach Wiremu Walker. 
2018 Farah Palmer Cup result: 
4th in Championship 

2019 Farah Palmer Cup fixtures: 
Week 2: Tasman v North Harbour, Sat 7 September 2pm – Landsdowne Park, Blenheim
Week 3: North Harbour v Hawke’s Bay, Sat 14 September 12pm – TBC club ground, North Harbour
Week 4: Northland v North Harbour, Sun 22 September 2.05pm – Semenoff Stadium, Whangarei (DH)
Week 5: Otago v North Harbour, Sun 29 September 11.30am – Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin (DH)
Week 6: North Harbour v Taranaki, Fri 4 October 5.35pm – North Harbour Stadium (DH)

2019 North Harbour Hibiscus squad:
Natasha Abel, Renee Adams, Hailey Beale, Anita Berry, Maddison Brooke, Nicole Brown, Caitlyn Cox, Tash Dallow, Sophie Fisher, Tenaija Fletcher, Raquel Garcia, Alexis Gray, Danjela Haigh, Katelyn Hilton, Tearren Nanjan, Ashleigh Nathan, Chrissy Quedley, Amy Robertshaw, Mikayla Robinson, Caroline Sio, Simone Small, Pia Tapsell, Jay Jay Taylor, Inga Timani, Justine Vizirgianakis, Olivia Ward-Duin, Rona Wharawhara, Kate Williams


View all