Black Ferns Sevens out to defend Dubai crown

BF7 team naming

The Black Ferns Sevens team is;

1. Ruby Tui
2. Shakira Baker
3. Stacey Waaka
4. Niall Williams
5. Huia Harding
6. Tenika Willison
7. Tyla Nathan-Wong – captain
8. Kelly Brazier
9. Gayle Broughton
10. Theresa Fitzpatrick
11. Shiray Kaka
12. Alena Saili
13. Risaleaana Pouri-Lane (travelling reserve)



Injuries to regular speedsters Portia Woodman and Michaela Blyde has seen Shiray Kaka brought into the team, her last tournament was in Paris in 2018. Kaka originally debuted in the black jersey in 2013 but an unfortunate run of injuries has disrupted her time on the field.

“Shiray has been out of the programme for a year but she has come back and adds a lot of energy to the group. She has magic feet and its going to be really good to unleash her and watch how she goes,” said Assistant Coach Stu Ross.

Huia Harding will suit up for her second outing for the Black Ferns Sevens.

“Huia has been in our programme for a while now but unfortunately for her she has sat behind some pretty good players, namely Sarah Hirini. She is full of energy and excitement and we are looking forward to seeing her out there.”

Ross said pool matches against Japan, England and France will provide a stern challenge to the team.

“Japan are full of energy and are unpredictable, England have grown as a team over the last series and matches between France and New Zealand are always full on,” said Ross.



Editorial Notes
- This is the ninth time the Women’s Sevens Series will play at the HSBC Dubai Sevens, the Black Ferns Sevens have won on four occasions (2012, 2014, 2016 and 2018).
- The Black Ferns Sevens lead the Series for most points (200) and tries (32) scored.
- The Black Ferns Sevens sit third on the World Series standings after one event on 16 points, behind USA (20) and Australia (18).
- Tyla Nathan-Wong will captain the team in the absence of the injured Sarah Hirini.
- Next week is the ASB Rugby Awards; Tyla Nathan-Wong, Kelly Brazier and Sarah Hirini are nominated for Women's Sevens Player of the Year. Hirini is also nominated for the Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year. Coaches Allan Bunting and Cory Sweeney are nominees for Coach of the Year while the team is in the running to defend the Team of the Year crown.

Useful links
HSBC Sevens World Series website
Sevens World Series standings
Sevens World Series stats

Schedule (all times and dates listed in NZT)
Pool Play
Friday 6 December
1.42am v Japan
7.50pm v England

Saturday 7 December
1.02am v France

Play offs – Saturday 7 December/Sunday 8 December

Watch the HSBC Dubai Sevens on Sky Sports 1

Black Ferns Sevens 2019/2020 schedule
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 5-6 October, Glendale - THIRD PLACE
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 5-7 December, Dubai
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 13-15 December, Cape Town
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 25-26 January, Hamilton
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 1-2 February, Sydney
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 3-5 April, Hong Kong
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 2-3 May, Langford
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 30-31 May, Paris
2020 Tokyo Olympics, 30 July – 1 August, Tokyo



View all