Canterbury looking to go back-to-back in 2019

GettyImages 1052564472
Kite is joined in the coaching team by former Black Fern Melissa Ruscoe and James Jowsey, while Simon Kneebone joins the team as scrum coach. 

The team will once again be captained by prop Stephanie Te Ohaere Fox, while Kendra Cocksedge has been named vice-captain. The Canterbury squad features three Black Ferns – Cocksedge, prop Phillipa Love and utility back Grace Brooker, who made her Test debut off the bench against the Wallaroos at Eden Park on Saturday night. 
Kite has named a similar team to the one that won last year’s Premiership. There are just five new caps in the team – Cindy Nelles, Amy Rule, Martha Lolohea and Olivia Bernadel-Huey, while Angelene Sisifa re-joins the group after being named last year but missing the season through injury. Nelles is a versatile lock and number 8 option for Canterbury. She has played 19 tests for Canada and at over six-feet tall she will add some real height to the red and blacks line out.

Prop Amy Rule is only 19 and she’s made the move north from the Otago Spirit. She can play on both sides of the scrum and is a great ball carrier. 

Bernadel-Huey is the new first five-eighth in the Canterbury side. She’s joined the squad from California, while Lolohea is a versatile back who can cover 12, 13 or wing. 
2018 Farah Palmer Cup result: 
Premiership winners. 

2019 Farah Palmer Cup fixtures: 
Week 1: Canterbury v Wellington, Sat 31 August 12.05pm – Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch (DH)
Week 2: Auckland v Canterbury, Sun 8 September 11.35am – Eden Park, Auckland (DH)
Week 3: BYE
Week 4: Canterbury v Manawatu, Sat 21 September 1pm – Rugby Park, Christchurch
Week 5: Counties Manukau v Canterbury, Sat 28 September 2.30pm – Navigation Homes Stadium, Pukekohe
Week 6: Waikato v Canterbury, Sun 6 October 2.35pm – FMG Stadium Waikato (DH)
Week 7: Canterbury v Bay of Plenty, Sun 13 October 2.05pm – Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch (DH)
(DH) – Double Header with Mitre 10 Cup match 

2019 Canterbury squad:
Phillipa Love, Amy Rule, Rebecca Todd, Stephanie Te Ohaere Fox, Nina Poletti, Catriona Greenslade, Chelsea Bremner, Cindy Nelles, Estelle Uren, Alana Bremner, Lucy Jenkins, Greer O’Rourke, Georgia Ponsonby, Angelene Sisifa, Kendra Cocksedge, Melanie Puckett, Cassie Siataga, Olivia Bernadel-Huey, Lucy Anderson, Terauoriwa Gapper, Grace Brooker, Martha Lolohea, Sam Curtis, Becky Davidson, Olivia McGoverne