Farah Palmer Cup: Finals Preview

GettyImages 1173075765

Check out all of the key information and team lists for the finals below.


PREMIERSHIP FINAL: Canterbury v Auckland Storm

Saturday 26 October, 12:05pm at Rugby Park, Christchurch. Gold coin donation & kids free.

Referee: Rebecca Mahoney

Played: 26 (2001-19)

Won: Canterbury 3, Auckland 23

Last match: Canterbury 45 Auckland 12 in Auckland on 8.9.2019


It’s been a remarkable comeback for the Auckland Storm in 2019. Lucky not to be relegated to the Championship last year, they’ve bounced back in style this season and find themselves up against defending champions, Canterbury, who are gunning for a three-peat. The red and blacks haven’t dropped a game this year and Auckland haven’t beaten Canterbury since 2017, so they’ll be determined to break the drought. Eloise Blackwell and Linda Itunu join Aleisha-Pearl Nelson in notching up her 100th first class match (combined FPC and Black Ferns) and it will be Itunu’s 60th match for the Storm.



Canterbury: 1: Phillipa Love 2: Stephanie Te Ohaere-Fox 3: Amy Rule 4: Chelsea Bremner 5: Cindy Nelles 6: Alana Bremner 7: Lucy Jenkins 8: Angie Sisifa 9: Kendra Cocksedge 10: Cassie Siataga 11: Sam Curtis 12: Lucy Anderson 13: Grace Brooker 14: Te Rauoriwa Gapper 15: Olivia McGoverne

RESERVES: Catriona Greenslade, Nina Poletti, Estelle Uren, Greer O’Rourke, Georgia Ponsonby, Melanie Puckett, Mayalin Lolohea


Auckland Storm: 1: Chryss Viliko 2: Cristo Tofa 3: Aleisha-Pearl Nelson 4: Eloise Blackwell 5: Charmaine Smith 6: Linda Itunu 7: Leanne Thompson 8: Charmaine McMenamin 9: Kiritapu Demant 10: Patricia Maliepo 11: Isla Norman-Bell 12: Joeannha Naime-Purcell 13: Ruahei Demant 14: Princess Elliot 15: Natahlia Moors

RESERVES: Aldora Itunu, Saphire Abraham, Maiakawanakaulani Roos, Joanna Fanene, Moana Cook, Abigail Roache, Grace Freeman



CHAMPIONSHIP FINAL: Otago Spirit v Hawke’s Bay Tui

Sunday 27 October, 12:05pm at Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin. Gold coin donation.

Referee: Brittany Andrew

Played: 14 (2004-19)

Won: Otago 11, Hawke’s Bay 3

Last match: Otago 34 Hawke’s Bay 26 in Napier on 5.10.2019


The Otago Spirit have history on their side against Hawke’s Bay. The Tui haven’t beaten them since 2011 and the Spirit have the advantage in 2019, having won this year’s fixture 34-26 in Napier. It’s been a remarkable season for Otago, going unbeaten through seven games. Last year, they fell short in the Championship final against Wellington, so going one better will certainly be on their minds. Hawke’s Bay second five-eighth Te Maari MacGregor will play her 50th game for the Tui.



Otago Spirit: 1: Isla Pringle 2: Tegan Hollows 3: Eilis Doyle 4: Kate Smith 5: Julia Gorinski 6: Bree Thomas 7: Morgan Henderson 8: Greer Muir 9: Roise Buchanan-Brown 10: Rosie Kelly 11: Kiana Wereta 12: Kilisitina Moata’ane 13: Teilah Ferguson 14: Trisha Hopcroft 15: Sheree Hume

RESERVES: Gemma Millar, Claudia Hobbs, Paige Church, Jess Kendall, Hannah Stolba, Hinemoa Watene, Cheyenne Cunningham


Hawke’s Bay Tui (note jersey numbers): 3: Whitley Mareikura 2: Forne Burkin 24: Jennifer Simati 4: Hanna Brough 5: Liana Mikaele-Tu’u 18: Kathleen Brown 7: Niamh Jefferson 8: Gemma Woods 9: Emma Jensen 10: Krysten Cottrell 11: Tori Iosefo 12: Te Maari MacGregor 13: Michaela Baker 14: Cortez Te Pou 15: Shaylee Tipiwai

RESERVES: Iukika Faavae, Moomooga Palu, Amber-Jane McKenzie, Sylvia Bockman, Felicity Powdrell, Teagan Meyer, Holly Macdonald




View all