Four Crusaders debutants named in side to face Moana Pasifika

GettyImages 1369441986 copy

Head Coach Scott Robertson has confirmed a raft of changes, which will see Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, Kini Naholo, Dominic Gardiner and Isaiah Punivai all don the Crusaders jersey for the first time, while Ethan Blackadder, Codie Taylor and Richie Mo'unga all return from injury and All Blacks return to play plans respectively. 

In the forwards, Joe Moody, Scott Barrett, Sam Whitelock and Cullen Grace will all sit out this week's match. George Bower steps into the starting side at loosehead prop, Mitch Dunshea and Quinten Strange are the starting locks and Blackadder's inclusion at six sees Pablo Matera move to number 8.

As well as Tahuriorangi and Naholo, Simon Hickey, Dallas McLeod, George Bridge and Chay Fihaki have all been given an opportunity to start in the backline this week. Quinten Strange has been named as Captain, while Bridge and Taylor will be Vice-Captains. 

"We're really honoured to welcome four new Crusaders to our club on Friday night," Robertson said. "It's a special week for all of our debutants and an opportunity to step up that they've worked extremely hard for.

"In particular, Izzy Punivai will be rewarded for the patience he's shown since being named in the squad last year, and I'm sure the team will get around him and celebrate what is an important milestone for him and his family.


"It's also going to be a special occasion for Moana Pasifika, and we're really looking forward to their first game of Super Rugby. They will have bonded through the adversity they've faced already in this competition, so we're expecting a passionate, spirited side to take the field on Friday night."

Kick off in the Crusaders match against Moana Pasifika is 7:05pm, Friday 4th March at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin. The match will be televised live on Sky Sport. 

Crusaders team to play Moana Pasifika:

1.   George Bower
2.   Brodie McAlister
3.   Oli Jager
4.   Mitch Dunshea
5.   Quinten Strange (C)
6.   Ethan Blackadder
7.   Tom Christie
8.   Pablo Matera
9.   Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi*
10. Simon Hickey
11. Kini Naholo*
12. Dallas McLeod
13. Leicester Fainga'anuku
14. George Bridge (VC)
15. Chay Fihaki

16. Codie Taylor (VC)
17. Tamaiti Williams
18. Fletcher Newell
19. Dominic Gardiner*
20. Corey Kellow
21. Bryn Hall
22. Richie Mo'unga
23. Isaiah Punivai*



View all