Hurricanes name team for Blues double-header

GettyImages 1470913166

Jason Holland has made just three changes to the run-on team that beat the Rebels last weekend in Melbourne.  

Devan Flanders returns to play following a concussion, flanking powerhouse 20-year-old Peter Lakai at eight. Lakai steps in replacement of skipper, Ardie Savea, who is unavailable due to a one-week suspension. Dane Coles will Captain the side in Savea’s absence.  

In the backs, Cameron Roigard retains his starting spot at halfback, with North Harbour’s Jamie Booth looking to make his 50th Super Rugby appearance off the bench since his debut with the Highlanders in 2016.  

“Boothie is a big part of our group now. He leads really well and plays a big part in how we play the game, our strategy, and he loves the game. You’ve seen what he’s done when he’s come off the bench this season, he’s given us lots of control and he’s playing really well,” said Holland.

Manawatū first-five Brett Cameron will make his Hurricanes debut in the number ten jersey, with last week’s starter, Aidan Morgan, looking to make impact off the bench.  

“Brett has been slightly inhibited through the preseason with his calf, but there’s been a lot of things that we like about him as a ten that we’ve seen through training and in the preseason game.  

“He’s got some really good skills, and his passing and kicking has been sharper and sharper so it’s important he got an opportunity,” said Holland.  

The Hurricanes take on the Blues on Saturday 11 March at 7:05PM in a double-header with the Hurricanes Poua taking on the nib Blues at 4:35PM. Gates open at 4pm with 20% off all food on the concourse from 4PM until 5.30PM.  

Guest performer, Ella Monnery, will perform at halftime, and New Zealand hip hop pioneer, DJ Raw lines up in the student zone.  

Both matches will be aired live on Sky Sport.  

Hurricanes named to face the Blues at Sky Stadium on Saturday: 
1. Xavier Numia     
2. Dane Coles (c)
3. Tyrel Lomax     
4. James Blackwell     
5. Isaia Walker-Leawere     
6. Devan Flanders     
7. Du’Plessis Kirifi     
8. Peter Lakai     
9. Cameron Roigard     
10. Brett Cameron * 
11. Salesi Rayasi     
12. Jordie Barrett     
13. Billy Proctor     
14. Julian Savea     
15. Josh Moorby     
16. Asafo Aumua     
17. Pouri Rakete-Stones     
18. Pasilio Tosi     
19. Caleb Delany     
20. TK Howden     
21. Jamie Booth ** 
22. Aidan Morgan     
23. Riley Higgins      

* Denotes debut 
** Denotes 50th Super Rugby match


View all