Joe Moody to start in 100th game for the Crusaders

Joe Moody v2

Loosehead prop, Joe Moody, will lead the team out in what will be his 100th appearance for the club, becoming the 19th Crusader to notch up this milestone. He'll be joined by Codie Taylor and Oliver Jager who complete the starting front row this week; Michael Alaalatoa will provide tighthead cover in the reserves. 


In the loose forwards, in-form Ethan Blackadder will sit out this weekend's match with a neck injury. The 26-year-old will be rested against the Hurricanes but is expected to be available next week. Whetukamokamo Douglas will replace Blackadder at blindside flanker, and Tom Sanders makes his return from injury to take a spot on the bench. 


In the backs, both Bryn Hall and Sevu Reece return to the starting side. The return of Reece sees George Bridge move back to his familiar spot on the left wing, and Leicester Fainga'anuku will provide impact from the bench. The final change sees Dallas McLeod join the match day side, in place of Fergus Burke.


Robertson acknowledged Moody as "world class" when speaking to media this morning about his milestone week: "For him [Joe] to become the 19th centurion in the Crusaders is pretty special for him, and [it's] obviously a special week...with what's happening with the jersey and remembering his father, so there's a little bit of emotion around it and so there should be, he's a proud Crusader."


Kick off in the Crusaders game against the Hurricanes is 3:35pm, Sunday 11th April, at Sky Stadium in Wellington. The match will also be televised live on Sky Sport.



Crusaders team to play the Hurricanes:

1.  Joe Moody

2.  Codie Taylor (VC)

3.  Oliver Jager

4.  Scott Barrett (C)

5.  Samuel Whitelock

6.  Whetukamokamo Douglas

7.  Sione Havili Talitui

8.  Cullen Grace

9.  Bryn Hall

10. Richie Mo'unga

11. George Bridge 

12. David Havili (VC)

13. Jack Goodhue

14. Sevu Reece

15. Will Jordan



16. Brodie McAlister

17. George Bower

18. Michael Alaalatoa

19. Mitchell Dunshea

20. Tom Sanders

21. Mitchell Drummond

22. Dallas McLeod

23. Leicester Fainga’anuku



View all