Julian Savea to captain Hurricanes against Chiefs

GettyImages 1485994965

In the forward pack, Xavier Numia returns from a rest week to link up with Owen Franks in the front row and will look for support from Tevita Mafileo and Pasilio Tosi off the bench. Jacob Devery retains his starting spot at hooker with Hame Faiva providing backup.  

Loose forward, Brayden Iose comes in to start in the number 8 jersey, with Hurricanes captain Ardie Savea confirmed to take his All Blacks rest week with Tyrel Lomax and Jordie Barrett. 

Peter Umaga-Jensen and Billy Proctor form a dynamic duo in the midfield, and Kini Naholo gets the nod to partner this week’s captain Julian Savea on the wing. Savea will no doubt be hoping to break the Super Rugby try-scoring record, sitting just one try away from being the most prolific try scorer in DHL Super Rugby Pacific history. 

“It’s great to have Jules [Julian] captain this week on his 151st outing with the Hurricanes.  

“He’s been leading really well, as part of our leadership group, and he has some good people to help him out there with the likes of [James] Blackie, [Billy] Proctor and [Jamie] Booth, so we’re confident there is a good mix of experience in this group,” said Holland.  

With a selection of players unavailable for selection due to New Zealand under-20s commitments, including young fullback Harry Godfrey, Counties Manukau First Five, Riley Hohepa, will make his second appearance off the bench, since debuting against Moana Pasifika in Round 5.  

Holland said he was pleased to have Hopeha back in the fold, saying; “He was awesome when he came into our environment earlier in the season, he’s a top man and knows the game really well.” 

The match will kick off this Saturday at 7.05pm for round 13 of DHL Super Rugby Pacific and will be aired live on Sky Sport NZ.  
Hurricanes named to take on the Chiefs: 

1 Xavier Numia 
2 Jacob Devery 
3 Owen Franks 
4 James Blackwell  
5 Isaia Walker-Leawere 
6 Devan Flanders 
7 Du’Plessis Kirifi 
8 Brayden Iose
9 Cam Roigard 
10 Aidan Morgan 
11 Kini Naholo 
12 Peter Umaga-Jensen 
13 Billy Proctor 
14 Julian Savea © 
15 Josh Moorby 
16 Hame Faiva 
17 Tevita Mafileo 
18 Pasilio Tosi 
19 Justin Sangster 
20 Caleb Delany 
21 Jamie Booth 
22 Riley Hohepa 
23 Salesi Rayasi 


View all