Manawatū and Hawke’s Bay to celebrate special 40th Anniversary

GettyImages 1276558805 2

Photo credits: Manawatu & Hawke's Bay Rugby Unions.


The Farah Palmer Cup fixture will mark the 40th anniversary of the first inter-provincial women’s rugby match. It was played between the Cyclones and Tui on September 14, 1980 in Palmerston North.


The two sides will play for the Attenborough-McBeth Cup. The cup is named after the coaches of each team on that day, Rangi and John, respectively. On that day, Helen McCall was the Cyclones captain and her daughter, Nicole Dickins played for Manawatū until 2018.


The Manawatū Cyclones have a simple task on Friday afternoon, win and they are through to the semi-finals alongside Canterbury from the South pool. If they lose, they’ll be sweating on the outcome of the Wellington v Otago game on Sunday in Wellington.



The Cyclones recorded a convincing victory over the Tui in pre-season, but they won’t be resting on their laurels. They name their side for the must-win encounter tonight [NZT].



Head along to McLean Park in Napier to catch the action at 4.35pm or watch the live stream on the Hawke’s Bay Magpies app.


Hawke’s Bay Tui v Manawatu Cyclones

Friday 16 October

4.35pm, McLean Park Napier

Downer Referee: Lauren Jenner




View all