Matatū team announced for inaugural Sky Super Rugby Aupiki clash

GettyImages 1379796404

It will be the second time these teams face each other after their epic pre-season hit out last weekend, where Chiefs Manawa came away with the win. It will also be the moment where 25 players etch their name in the history books as the first ever Matatū team to take the field in Sky Super Rugby Aupiki.


Matatū Head Coach Blair Baxter said this week’s team naming was a historic moment.


“There’s been some really special moments,” Baxter said. “It was pretty emotional when we named the team yesterday, internally.”

“This week has been a chance to reflect on the wāhine that have come before us, who carved a path to enabled us to be who we are today. We’ve got a chance on Thursday night to inspire a new generation of young athletes, which is a massive honour.”


Baxter referred to the high tempo game Chiefs Manawa came out with in the pre-season game, and said he expects it will be similar tomorrow.


“They’ll obviously be learning and getting sharper, and we are just working to make sure we do the same.”


The Matatū team list has stayed pretty consistent with Saturday’s pre-season line up, with the addition of Wallaroo Arabella McKenzie sitting in at number 22.


This first official kick off for Sky Super Rugby Aupiki is scheduled for 7.05pm,Thursday 10th March at FMG Stadium in Hamilton. The game will be broadcast live on Sky and will also be available on Prime.



View all