Matatū team named for pre-season clash with Chiefs Manawa

GettyImages 1370223420 copy

Their re-jigged pre-season match will see Matatū take on Chiefs Manawa tomorrow afternoon at Owen Delany Park in Taupō, before the competition proper gets underway next week.


“It feels like such a long time coming, but we had a really emotional send off from family this morning before we boarded the plane to Taupō and now we feel like we’re ready to get underway,” Baxter said.


“We’re so excited for the season and our inaugural campaign as Matatū. It’s a special opportunity we all have in the history of our game, and we can’t wait to get out there and represent the South Island with pride.”



Kick off in the pre-season match between Matatū and Chiefs Manawa is scheduled at 2.15pm, Saturday 5th March. The match will be televised live on Sky Sport and is also available to watch on Prime.


The Matatū team to play Chiefs Manawa is:

1. Pip Love

2. Georgia Ponsonby

3. Amy Rule

4. Michaela Leonard

5. Chelsea Bremner

6. Alana Bremner (C)

7. Lucy Jenkins

8. Marcelle Parkes

9. Di Hiini

10. TeRauoriwa Gapper

11. Grace Steinmetz

12. Liv McGoverne

13. Amy du Plessis

14. Martha Mataele

15. Renee Holmes (VC)

16. Steph Te Ohaere-Fox


17. Lucy Anderson

18. Ashley Palu

19. Julia Gorinski

20. Greer Muir

21. Rosie Kelly

22. Kilisitina Vea

23. Tayla Simpson

24. Isabella Waterman



View all