Moana Pasifika team named for NSW Waratahs, Mt Smart Stadium

GettyImages 1391716133

The match is significant for Sekope Kepu as he will play against the team he served for 141 games. Similarly, this game could see Christian Leali’ifano etched in to Super Rugby folklore as he is just nine points away from reaching 1,000 Super Rugby points.

There are just three changes to the Moana Pasifika that narrowly went down to the Melbourne Rebels by 26 points to 22.

The tight five remains the same with try scorer Abraham Pole at loosehead prop, Ray Niuia at hooker and Captain Sekope Kepu on the tighthead side of the scrum. Samuel Slade and Veikoso Poloniati combine at lock and complete the engine room.

A cheek fracture to Alamanda Motuga sees Solomone Funaki elevated to the starting line up. He is complimented by Michael Curry and Henry Time-Stowers in the loose forwards.

There are no changes to the backline from Saturday night’s game at AAMI Park in Melbourne. Ereatara Enari and Christian Leali’ifano have proven to be a formidable combination and retain the 9 and 10 jerseys respectively for another week.

Henry Taefu and Levi Aumua will pair in the midfield with MVP Timoci Tavatavanawai on the left wing and Tima Fainga’anuku on the right wing. Danny Toala rounds out the starting 15.


Alex McRobbie and Jack Lam come on to the bench after recovering from a concussion and knee injury, respectively.

Moana Pasifika v NSW Waratahs
Saturday 7 May, Kick-off 4:35pm
Mt Smart Stadium

1.    Abraham Pole
2.    Ray Niuia
3.    Sekope Kepu (C)
4.    Veikoso Poloniati
5.    Samuel Slade
6.    Michael Curry
7.    Solomone Funaki
8.    Henry Time-Stowers
9.    Ereatara Enari
10.    Christian Leali’ifano (VC)
11.    Timoci Tavatavanawai
12.    Henry Taefu
13.    Levi Aumua
14.    Tima Fainga’anuku
15.    Danny Toala

16.    Luteru Tolai
17.    Ezekiel Lindenmuth
18.    Joe ‘Apikotoa
19.    Alex McRobbie
20.    Jack Lam
21.    Jonathan Taumateine
22.    Lincoln McClutchie
23.    Solomone Kata
Unavailable due to injury: Isi Tu’ungafasi, Don Lolo, Lotu Inisi, Anzelo Tuitavuki, Mike McKee, Alamanda Motuga



View all