Montessa Tairakena to debut for Black Ferns Sevens

71293874 805932933157593 7321142699472453632 n

Sarah Hirini captains the team that coaches Allan Bunting and Cory Sweeney named today.

The Black Ferns Sevens team is;

1. Ruby Tui
2. Shakira Baker
3. Terina Te Tamaki
4. Niall Williams
5. Sarah Hirini – captain
6. Michaela Blyde
7. Stacey Waaka
8. Kelly Brazier
9. Gayle Broughton
10. Theresa Fitzpatrick
11. Risi Pouri-Lane
12. Montessa Tairakena

*Tenika Willison is the travelling reserve

Co—Coach Cory Sweeney said the selection of Montessa Tairakena was exciting for the Black Ferns Sevens squad.

“Montessa has been dominant at age group and national level for some time, she is one of the quickest players in New Zealand. She came into our environment at the beginning of the year and in this pre-season has grown in confidence.

“She has been learning from one of the best in the world in Michaela Blyde and has shown us what we needed to see to select her, it's really exciting times for her and the team,” said Sweeney.

The Black Ferns Sevens also have the benefit of Stacey Waaka and Gayle Broughton back in their game day 12.

“They both have a lot of experience and are exciting players on attack and defence. We have noticed the impact they have had on the group, off the field their personalities add a real excitement, and they are capable of doing amazing things on the field,” said Sweeney.

The Black Ferns sevens face Japan, Russia and England on Day One.

“It will be a good test for us on Day One. Japan are a quick side that are really innovative, so we will have to be on our game when we meet them. We played Russia and England a lot at the end of last season. We want to show a dominant display on Day One and I think we are at a good place with our game plan to achieve that,” said Sweeney.

World Rugby and Sky New Zealand announced yesterday that the full HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series will be broadcast live this season, including all of the women’s tournaments for the first time.



Where to watch
All matches will be broadcast live on Sky Sports 1



Day One – Sunday 6 October (times listed in NZT)
6.43am v Japan
9.27am v Russia
12.33pm v England



Day Two – Monday 7 October


Page Not Found • Instagram


2019/2020 Black Ferns schedule
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 5-6 October, Glendale
Oceania Sevens, 10-11 November, Fiji
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 5-7 December, Dubai
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 13-15 December, Cape Town
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 25-26 January, Hamilton
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 1-2 February, Sydney
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 3-5 April, Hong Kong
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 2-3 May, Langford
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 30-31 May, Paris
2020 Tokyo Olympics, 30 July – 1 August, Tokyo


View all