Niko Jones to debut for Moana Pasifika

GettyImages 1364497055

The teams will meet at FMG Stadium in Hamilton on Saturday at 4.35pm. Moana Pasifika is entering their 6th game in just 22 days which has seen Head Coach Aaron Mauger make several changes each match.

Manu Samoa midfielder Henry Taefu will captain the team for the first time from second five-eighth with experienced halfback Ereatara Enari named as vice-captain.

Chris Apoua gets his first start in the Moana Pasifika jersey and is joined by Ray Niuia and Ezekiel Lindenmuth in the front row. Veikoso Poloniati and Mahonri Ngakuru complete the engine room.

Exciting loose forward Niko Jones will debut at openside flanker and Michael Curry earns a start at six after scoring a try off the bench in Moana Pasifika’s loss to the Hurricanes. Sione Tu’ipulotu completes the forward pack at number eight.

Hawke’s Bay Magpies playmakers Ereatara Enari and Lincoln McClutchie will combine for the first time since the opening game against the Crusaders.

Henry Taefu and Solomone Kata combine in the midfield for a new combination in 12 and 13. Anzelo Tuitavuki and Timoci Tavatavanawai will play on the left and right wing respectively and William Havili returns to fullback.

There is plenty of firepower to come from the bench try scorers Alex McRobbie, Fine Inisi and Tomasi Alosio ready to provide impact.

Team to play Gallagher Chiefs on Saturday 16 April, 4.35pm at FMG Stadium Waikato

1. Ezekiel Lindenmuth
2. Ray Niuia
3. Chris Apoua
4. Veikoso Poloniati
5. Mahonri Ngakuru
6. Michael Curry
7. Niko Jones (Debut)
8. Sione Tu’ipulotu
9. Ereatara Enari (VC)
10. Lincoln McClutchie
11. Anzelo Tuitavuki
12. Henry Taefu (C)
13. Solomone Kata
14. Timoci Tavatavanawai
15. William Havili  


RESERVES: 16. Samiuela Moli 17. Taukiha’amea Koloamatangi 18. Suetena Asomua 19. Alex McRobbie 20. Josh Kaifa 21. Jonathan Taumateine 22. Fine Inisi 23. Tomasi Alosio



View all