Next generation of schoolboy talent selected in national teams


From Orewa College in the north to Southland Boys’ High School in the south, 34 schools and ten clubs are represented. A total of 75 players have been selected across the three teams following strong performances in the recent Super Rugby camps, school and club rugby this season and stretch of the country.


The New Zealand Schools team is headed by the Kane Jury (Highlanders), with James Hantz (Auckland Grammar School) and Gus Leger (Sacred Heart College) completing the coaching team. Dave Dillon (Highlanders) will lead the New Zealand Barbarians with Tony Christie (Matatū/Canterbury) and Matt MacDougall (Crusaders Under 18/Under 20) named as assistants. Kahu Carey (Rangitāne, Ngāti Apa ki te Rā Tō) will coach the Māori Under 18 team alongside Jeremy Wara (Waikato - Tainui, Ngāti Pikiao - Te Arawa) and Ngatai Walker (Ngāti Porou).


New Zealand Rugby High Performance Pathways Manager Ben Fisher said it was a special moment for both the players and whānau of those who have been selected.


“We’ve seen a great season of rugby from this age group following last year’s disruption with Covid 19. To have selected a talented cohort of players across the three teams take part in the quadrangular tournament is exciting. It is a great honour for those selected and will be a proud moment for all.”


“The work behind the scenes to encapsulate the abundance of talent we have across this age group, and select this group of young men, has been fantastic. Many hours of match viewing live and through online footage for school, club, province and Super Rugby Under 18 camps have got us to this point. Our task now is to provide the players with an unforgettable development opportunity to help set them up for future success,”

Ben Fisher, New Zealand Rugby High Performance Pathways Manager


New Zealand Barbarian Club President Bernie Allen congratulated the players selected and opportunity to wear the Barbarian jersey.


“The upcoming week will provide a wonderful opportunity for all players to develop and grow in a competitive rugby environment.”


“Over the past 85 years, the Barbarian Club has played many games of national and international significance which have allowed many young players like those who have been selected to embark on long and successful rugby careers. We know the jersey will be worn with pride and bring passion and energy of the places and people the team represents,” said Allen.


The New Zealand Under 18 Quadrangular Tournament will take place at St Paul’s Collegiate in Hamilton on Tuesday 11 October and Saturday 15 October. All games will be live streamed via New Zealand Rugby’s Facebook page @nzrugbyofficial.



Click here for the 2022 New Zealand Schools team.
Click here for the New Zealand Barbarian U18 team.
Click here for the New Zealand Māori U18 team.


New Zealand Under 18 Quadrangular Tournament
Location: St Paul’s Collegiate, Hamilton
Date: Tuesday 11 October and Saturday 15 October



Tuesday 11 October
NZ Barbarians vs. Fiji Schools – 12.30pm
NZ Māori Under 18 vs. NZ Secondary Schools – 2.30pm

Saturday 15 October
NZ Barbarians vs. NZ Māori U18 – 12.30pm
NZ Secondary Schools vs. Fiji Schools – 2.30pm





View all