North Harbour break losing streak while Cocksedge brings up record

GettyImages 1330304866

Tries were shared at three apiece with Canterbury halfback Kendra Cocksedge scoring twice to celebrate her feat in becoming the first New Zealand woman to post 1000 points in first class rugby. She went into the game needing 12 more points to achieve the mark, and as well as her two tries, she landed three conversions and a penalty goal.


That goal-kicking marked the difference between the sides as Waikato could land only a solitary conversion by Chelsea Alley. But Waikato could take satisfaction by taking a loser's bonus point from the game, their first of the season after a bye in the opening round.


Auckland were given a tough contest in Dunedin before claiming a 39-15 win. The southerners held Auckland to 12-13 at halftime. But Auckland found their try-scoring mojo in the second half while Ruahei Demant added 14 points with her boot.


Auckland hold a one-point lead from Canterbury in the Premiership section of the competition.


In the Championship, Manawatu, Northland and North Harbour had wins while Tasman secured two bonus points by scoring five tries and finishing within three points of North Harbour.


Farah Palmer Cup, Week Two


North Harbour Hibiscus 35 Tasman 32


North Harbour 35 (Hayley Hutana, Jade Wong, Anita Berry, Kate Williams, Ciara O'Connor tries; Hutana 2 con, 2 pen) Tasman 32 (Easter Savelio, Eleri James-Smithers, Karla Wright-Akeli, Jess Foster-Lawrence, Eve Findlay tries; Findlay 2 con, pen). HT:  22-8



Waikato 17 Canterbury 24


Waikato 17 (Grace Houpapa-Barrett, Tanya Kalounivale, Kelsey Teneti tries; Chelsea Alley con) Canterbury 24 (Kendra Cocksedge 2, Grace Steinmetz tries; Cocksedge 3 con, pen). HT: 12-14



Hawke's Bay Tui 31 Northland Kauri 46


Hawke's Bay 31 (Michaela Baker 2, Harmony Kautai 2, Moomooga Palu tries; Krysten Cottrell 3 con) Northland Kauri 46 (Kamila Wihongi, Sela Moata'ane, Hikitia Wikaira, Timara Leaf, Krystal Murray 2, Hinewai Pomare, Holli O'Sullivan tries; Leilani Erwin con; Murray con; Tyler Nankiville con). HT: 26-15



Manawatu Cyclones 48 Taranaki Whio 5


Manawatu Cyclones 48 (Janna Michel Vaughan 2, Lucy Brown 2, Crystal Mayes 2, Lauren Basillie 2 tries; Carys Dallinger 4 con) Taranaki Whio 5 (Aroha Nuku try). HT: 12-5



Counties Manukau Heat 21 Bay of Plenty Volcanix 13


Counties Manukau Heat 21 (Leilani Perese, Aeron Kalela Warbrooke tries; Hazel Tubic con, 3 pen) Bay of Plenty Volcanix 13 (Manaia Nuku, Karli Faneva tries; Kalyn Takitimu-Cook pen). HT: 10-8



Otago Spirit 15 Auckland Storm 39


Otago Spirit 15 (Keely Hill, Oceana Campbell tries; Sheree Hume con, pen) Auckland Storm 39 (Tafito Lafaele 2, Maiakawanakaulani Roos, Natahlia Moors, Cristo Tofa tries; Ruahei Demant 4 con, 2 pen). HT: 12-13



View all