Northland relishing Farah Palmer Cup opportunity

69172835 646011812587221 4260863640762056704 n
The Northland side will be coached by two former Black Ferns, Cheryl Smith (nee Waaka) and Susan Dawson. Smith will be head coach, while Dawson will be her assistant. Scott Collins, who is the Northland women’s rugby development manager, is the skills coach. 

Experienced Black Ferns hooker Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate has moved up North for the season and will be joined by fellow Black Fern and Counties Manukau Heat playmaker Victoria Subritzky-Nafatali. Harono Te Iringa, Stacey Tupe, Kamila Wihongi, Krystal Murray and Taylah Hodson-Tomokino are all also in the Northland squad.

Rookies in the side includes Savannah Bodman, Mia Anderson and Jurney Blair who were all part of the New Zealand Maori Under 18 development camp in Rotorua last month. Inside back Tyler Nankivell, flanker Tui McGeorge and hooker Patricia Vaka all had strong club seasons and are expected to fire in Northland’s maiden campaign. Veteran Amanda Nepia will add plenty of experience to the side. 

The Northland squad are determined to solidify the pathway for women and girls in the North in their first year in the competition. The Farah Palmer Cup side and Under 18 programmes have been merged so that both squads can train together and share resources. The players in Northland can now see that they have access to the Farah Palmer Cup whilst living in the North. 
They have one double header at Semenoff Stadium in Whangarei, while their other two home games will be played at Whangarei’s Trigg Stadium. 

2019 Farah Palmer Cup fixtures:
Week 2: Hawke’s Bay v Northland, Sat 7 September 1pm – Tremain Field, Napier
Week 3: Northland v Otago, Sat 14 September 12pm – Trigg Stadium, Whangarei
Week 4: Northland v North Harbour, Sun 22 September 2.05pm – Semenoff Stadium, Whangarei (DH)
Week 5: Taranaki v Northland, Sat 28 September 2.30pm – TET Stadium, Inglewood
Week 6: Northland v Tasman, Sat 5 October 12.30pm – Trigg Stadium, Whangarei TBC
(DH) – Double Header with Mitre 10 Cup fixture 

2019 Northland squad: 
Kamila Wihongi, Fern Walton, Bron Hames, Kahurangi Shelford, Helen Kapa, Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate, Patricia Vaka, Taylah Hodson-Tomokino, Jurney Blair, Tui McGeorge, Justice Karena, Mia Anderson, Eva Fulton, Krystal Murray, Harono Te Iringa, Manaia Webb, Jheri-Kah Hoet, Victoria Subritzky-Nafatali, Tyler Nankivell, Stacey Tupe, Alisha Proctor, Jaimee Brown, Cheryl Murray, Timara Leaf, Kat Wira-Kohu, Leilani Erwin, Amanda, Nepia, Savannah Bodman

Development group: Naomi Judd, Ruby Korewha, Codie McIntyre, Delwynne Cox, Nikola Murray, Leah Claridge, Amira Te Iringa, Kyla McKenzie, Jess Rosenkranz 


View all