Prestigious Bronze Boot holds famous names

Blair Murray

Not only will bragging rights be on the line, the New Zealand Schools team has won the past seven encounters, but the prestigious Rugby News Jerry Collins Memorial Bronze Boot.


Each year a player from both the New Zealand and Australia teams are presented this award for being the most constructive player in the series.


Since its inception in 1992, 18 players who have received the Boot have gone on to play international rugby.


Of the 25 names to have received the Boot from New Zealand, 11 have gone on to play for the All Blacks, including the late Jerry Collins, who the award is now named after.


World Cup winners Liam Messam, Victor Vito and Sam Cane are among those to have received the honour, while current Sky commentator Jeff Wilson was the first to receive the Boot.


More recently Sione Havili was awarded the Boot in 2016 and went on to win the Sir DJ Graham Player of the Tournament at the National Under 19 Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament the following year, he is currently playing Mitre 10 Cup for Tasman.


Blair Murray, of New Plymouth Boys’ High School, received the honour last year and will be in the running again at the end of this week, his cameo off the bench yesterday resulted in two tries.


There have been seven Wallabies who have graduated from receiving the Bronze Boot, including current loose forward David Pocock and stalwarts Phil Waugh and George Smith.


The last time the Bronze Boot winner from both teams went on to international honours was 2009 with flankers Sam Cane and Liam Gill.


New Zealand Bronze Boot winners: Jeff Wilson, Carlos Spencer, Quintan Sanft, Ashley Barron, Carl Hayman, Jerry Collins, Cameron McIntyre, Ben Atiga, Liam Messam, Aaron Bancroft, Victor Vito, Zarhn Commerer, Luke Braid, Charlie Ngatai, Blade Thomson, Sam Cane, Matt McGahan, Ardie Savea, James Tucker, Akira Ioane, Patelesio Tomkinson, Alex Fidow, Sione Havili, Devan Flanders, Blair Murray



View all