PREVIEW: Black Ferns v Wallaroos (Adelaide)

GettyImages 1415950160

Match details: Black Ferns v Wallaroos, Saturday 27 August, 2.45pm NZT, Adelaide Oval


Watch: Live on Sky Sport


Referee: Amber McLachlan

Assistant Referees: Maggie Cogger-Orr & Tyler Miller

TMO: Lee Jeffrey



While one of the big goals for 2022 has been ticked off, the Black Ferns will want to keep their unbeaten record against Australia intact in Adelaide on Saturday afternoon. The O’Reilly Cup was safely locked away for another year on Saturday night in Christchurch, after a 52-5 win, because the Black Ferns were current holders. But there is no way the Black Ferns will get complacent at the Adelaide Oval. They haven’t lost to Australia in 21 occasions, so maintaining that record will be hugely important.



Despite the favourable score line at Orangetheory Stadium, Black Ferns assistant coaches Whitney Hansen and Wes Clarke are demanding improvements in the second Test. As defence coach, Clarke was disappointed they conceded a try in the 79th minute and Wayne Smith still felt they had multiple more opportunities to score. The foot certainly won’t be taken off the throttle this weekend.  



The Black Ferns have already blooded 13 debutants in 2022 and more are expected on Saturday. A Test debut has been a long time coming for utility back Grace Steinmetz, who has been named to start at fullback on Saturday. She made her Black Ferns debut back in 2020, but injury has meant she is yet to make her Test debut. She will be joined by fellow debutant Santo Taumata, with the prop set to come off the pine in Adelaide.




Ayesha Leti-I’iga was in menacing form in Christchurch, form she has maintained right throughout the 2022 season thus far. In the opening Test, she scored two tries, ran 114 metres, made 16 carries and beat five defenders. The speedy winger has now scored nine tries in 16 Tests. The 23 year-old is proving to be very difficult to stop and is flourishing under the current coaching regime. She’ll be number one on the Wallaroos’ list to contain on Saturday afternoon.  




Black Ferns: 1. Pip Love 2. Luka Connor 3. Amy Rule 4. Maiakawanakaulani Roos 5. Joanah Ngan-Woo 6. Alana Bremner 7. Kendra Reynolds 8. Kennedy Simon (cc) 9. Ariana Bayler 10. Ruahei Demant (cc) 11. Ayesha Leti-I’iga 12. Chelsea Semple 13. Logo-I-Pulotu Lemapu Atai’i (Sylvia) Brunt 14. Ruby Tui 15. Grace Steinmetz*


Reserves: 16. Natalie Delamere 17. Krystal Murray 18. Santo Taumata* 19. Chelsea Bremner 20. Charmaine McMenamin 21. Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu 22. Renee Holmes 23. Hazel Tubic




Wallaroos: 1. Liz Patu 2. Adiana Talakai 3. Eva Karpani 4. Atasi Lafai 5. Michaela Leonard 6. Emily Chancellor 7. Shannon Parry 8. Grace Hamilton 9. Iliseva Batibasaga 10. Arabella McKenzie 11. Ivania Wong 12. Siokapesi Palu 13. Georgina Friedrichs 14. Bienne Terita 15. Pauline Piliae-Rasabale


Reserves: 16. Ashley Marsters 17. Emily Robinson 18. Bridie O’Gorman 19. Kaitlan Leaney 20. Piper Duck 21. Layne Morgan 22. Trilleen Pomare 23. Lori Cramer



View all