Remaining nominees for 2009 Steinlager Rugby Awards

Tremain Memorial Player of the Year have been released today.

The NZRU Women’s Player of the Year nominees are Kelly Brazier and Carla Hohepa, both of Otago, and Auckland’s Victoria Heighway.

The nominees for the Kelvin R. Tremain Memorial Player of the Year are All Blacks captain Richie McCaw, his Canterbury teammate Dan Carter, and Taranaki’s Andrew Hore.

The judges for the 2009 Steinlager Rugby Awards are former All Blacks captain and former NZRU President Andy Leslie, NZRU Board member and former All Blacks captain Graham Mourie, SKY Sport rugby commentator Grant Nisbett and former All Black and current NZRU General Manager Community and Provincial Union Rugby Brent Anderson.

The Steinlager Awards are being held this year on 17 December 2009, at the Sky City Convention Centre, Auckland.

The 2009 Steinlager Rugby Awards nominees

NZRU Age Grade Player of the Year
Sam Cane (Bay of Plenty)
Aaron Cruden (Manawatu)
Zac Guildford (Hawke’s Bay)
Winston Stanley (Auckland)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year
Carla Hohepa (Otago)
Zar Lawrence (Bay of Plenty)
Julian Savea (Wellington)

NZRU Women’s Player of the Year
Kelly Brazier
Victoria Heighway
Carla Hohepa

The Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year
Blair Crawford (Otago)
David Hickey (Auckland)
Peter Te Tai (Southland)

Rebel Sport Super 14 Player of the Year
Aled de Malmanche (Chiefs)
Malili (Mils) Muliaina (Chiefs)
Ma’a Nonu (Hurricanes)

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year
Zac Guildford (Hawke’s Bay, Ngati Kahungunu)
Cory Jane (Wellington, Ngati Kahungunu)
Isaac Ross (Canterbury, Kai Tahu)

Heartland Championship Player of the Year
Jon Dampney (Mid Canterbury)
Sione Ngatu (Poverty Bay)
Asaeli Tikoirotuma (Wanganui)

Air New Zealand Cup Player of the Year
Josh Bekhuis (Southland)
Mike Delany (Bay of Plenty)
Zac Guildford (Hawke’s Bay)

adidas Team of the Year
Canterbury (Air New Zealand Cup)
New Zealand Under 20
Wanganui (Heartland Championship)

New Zealand Rugby Coach of the Year
Ian Foster (Chiefs)
Guy Lennox (Wanganui)
Rob Penney (Canterbury)
Dave Rennie (New Zealand Under 20)

NZRU Referee of the Year
Winner named on the night

Kelvin R. Tremain Memorial Player of the Year
Daniel Carter
Andrew Hore
Richie McCaw

Steinlager Salver for an Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand Rugby
Recipient named on the night


View all