Round 9 Preview: Chiefs v Hurricanes (2021)

GettyImages 1308047335

Both sides are without two key players, with Luke Jacobson out with concussion for the Chiefs and Ardie Savea sidelined with a knee injury.


Match Details: Friday 23 April, 7:05pm, FMG Stadium Waikato


Referee: Paul Williams


Played: 39


Won: Chiefs 16, Hurricanes 21, 2 draws


Last match: Chiefs 29 Hurricanes 35 in Hamilton on 20 March 2021


Watch: Sky Sport 1 in New Zealand & overseas broadcast information HERE.





The Chiefs and Hurricanes will honour the ANZACs on Friday night in Hamilton, acknowledging all men and women who have served and continue to serve our country. The match will feature a reading of The Ode, playing of the Last Post, a moment’s silence, and The Reveille. There will also be poppy collections on site for the RSA Poppy Appeal.




Bryn Gatland is back in the number 10 jersey. He started the opening two matches of the competition this year, but since then has been behind Kaleb Trask and Damian McKenzie. Gatland came off the bench against the Crusaders last weekend and coach Clayton McMillan was happy with his impact, so has given him the green light in the starting jersey with McKenzie shifting back to fullback. It will be good to see Gatland go up against rookie Ruben Love, who has retained the Hurricanes 10 jersey after making his starting debut two weeks’ ago.



The Hurricanes and Chiefs are set to unearth two newbies on Friday night, with 22 year-old Manawatū flanker Brayden Iose to make his debut off the bench. Māori All Blacks midfielder Rameka Poihipi has been named to make his first appearance from the reserves, with Sean Wainui out of action due to illness.



Chiefs’ halfback Brad Weber has made a competition-high 10 clean breaks this Super Rugby Aotearoa season. He has made 10 clean breaks across his last seven Super Rugby games against the Hurricanes.



Gallagher Chiefs: 1. Aidan Ross 2. Samisoni Taukei’aho 3. Angus Ta’avao 4. Tupou Vaa’i 5. Naitoa Ah Kuoi 6. Mitchell Brown 7. Lachlan Boshier 8. Pita Gus Sowakula 9. Brad Weber © 10. Bryn Gatland 11. Etene Nanai-Seturo 12. Alex Nankivell 13. Anton Lienert-Brown 14. Jonah Lowe 15. Damian McKenzie

Reserves: 16. Nathan Harris 17. Ollie Norris 18. Sione Mafileo 19. Samipeni Finau 20. Kaylum Boshier 21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi 22. Rameka Poihipi* 23. Chase Tiatia


Hurricanes: 1. Xavier Numia 2. Dane Coles © 3. Tyrel Lomax 4. James Blackwell 5. Scott Scrafton 6. Reed Prinsep 7. Du’Plessis Kirifi 8. Devan Flanders 9. Luke Campbell 10. Ruben Love 11. Salesi Rayasi 12. Ngani Laumape 13. Peter Umaga-Jensen 14. Wes Goosen 15. Jordie Barrett

Reserves: 16. Asafo Aumua 17. Pouri Rakete-Stones 18. Alex Fidow 19. Isaia Walker-Leawere 20. Vaea Fifita 21. Brayden Iose* 22. Cam Roigard 23. Billy Proctor




View all