Sam Dickson to bring up 50th tournament at HSBC Cape Town Sevens

GettyImages 888833164

The Canterbury forward becomes just the sixth player to reach the milestone for the All Blacks Sevens after making his debut in 2012 at Dubai.

The All Blacks Sevens team is (*denotes debut);

1. Scott Curry – co-captain
2. Tim Mikkelson – co-capain
3. Tone Ng Shiu
4. Salesi Rayasi
5. Dylan Collier
6. Ngarohi McGarvey-Black
7. Sam Dickson
8. Andrew Knewstubb
9. Regan Ware
10. Kurt Baker
11. Joe Webber
12.  Akuila Rokolisoa
13. William Warbrick* (travelling reserve)


Coach Clark Laidlaw paid credit to a resilient Dickson, who joins Co-Captains Scott Curry and Tim Mikkelson as current players to have reached the milestone.

“It’s a massive achievement and shows real resilience and consistency to reach 50 tournaments. It is a huge credit to Sam and the team is really excited to get out there and play with him for his 50th”.

A knee injury to Sione Molia sees Akuila Rokolisoa join the playing 12 and a potential debut for William Warbrick who is the travelling reserve.

“It’s disappointing to lose Sione but we have a strong squad over here and it gives Akuila a chance to come in and play well.”

Laidlaw congratulated Tone Ng Shiu for receiving the Richard Crawshaw Memorial Trophy for Sevens Player of the Year at last night’s ASB Rugby Awards and noted the awards collected by the Black Ferns Sevens.

“Tone has had a great year, and he continued that last weekend, being named in the Dream Team in Dubai. Also, the awards that Sarah, Cory, Allan and the Black Ferns Sevens picked up last night is a great acknowledgement for sevens rugby in our country,” said Laidlaw.


The All Blacks Sevens opened the HSBC World Series with a second place in Dubai last weekend, thus sit second on the overall standings behind this week’s hosts South Africa. Drawn in Pool B, they will meet Wales and Canada for the second week in a row, and close out pool play against Argentina.

All Blacks Sevens matches
Saturday 14 December
6.05am v Wales

Sunday 15 December
12.07pm v Canada
6.05am Argentina

Watch the HSBC Cape Town Sevens on Sky Sport 1

Helpful Links
HSBC Sevens World Series website
Series tournaments
Series standings
Series stats

Editorial Notes
• The All Blacks Sevens have won the Sevens in South Africa on ten occasions (2000, 2001, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2017).
• This will be the 50th tournament for Sam Dickson, he debuted in Dubai in 2012. He is only the sixth New Zealand player to reach this milestone behind DJ Forbes, Tim Mikkelson, Lote Raikabula, Tomasi Cama and Scott Curry.
• Tone Ng Shiu and Scott Curry were named in the HSBC Dream Team in Dubai. After one tournament, Sam Dickson is the leading tackler (15) and Salesi Rayasi is the third highest try scorer (5).
• Tone Ng Shiu was recognised at the ASB Rugby Awards last night, receiving the Richard Crawshaw Memorial Trophy for Sevens Player of the Year.

2019/2020 Schedule
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 5-7 December, Dubai - RUNNERS UP
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 13-15 December, Cape Town
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 25-26 January, Hamilton
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 1-2 February, Sydney
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 29 February – 1 March, Los Angeles
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 7-8 March, Vancouver
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 3-5 April, Hong Kong
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 11-12 April, Singapore
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 23-24 May, London
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 30-31 May, Paris
2020 Tokyo Olympics, 27-29 July, Tokyo




View all